Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Award Winners: Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

Features titles of award winners such as the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King awards. Also includes the call number if the Vise Library owns a particular item.

What is the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award?

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.  --


1970 Winner

No award presented

1971 Winner

No award presented

1972 Winner

No award presented

1973 Winner

No award presented


1974 Winner

1975 Winner

No award presented

1976 Winner

No award presented

1977 Winner

No award presented

1978 Winner

1979 Winner

1980 Winner

1981 Winner

1982 Winner

1983 Winner

1984 Winner

1985 Winner

No award presented

1986 Winner

1987 Winner

1988 Winner

1989 Winner

1990 Winner

1991 Winner

1992 Winner

1993 Winner

1994 Winner

1995 Winner

1996 Winner

1997 Winner

1998 Winner

1999 Winner

2000 Winner

2001 Winner

2002 Winner

2003 Winner

2004 Winner

2005 Winner

2006 Winner

2007 Winner

2008 Winner

2009 Winner

2010 Winner

2011 Winner

2012 Winner

2013 Winner

2014 Winner

2015 Winner

2016 Winner

2017 Winner

2018 Winner

2019 Winner

2020 Winner

2021 Winner