Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Considering & Planning a PA Career
What is a Physician Assistant? (PAEA)
Briefly delineates scope of physician assistant (PA) tasks and responsibilities.
Created by PA graduate students and recent PA licensees, this site provides step-by-step state PA licensing guides, details on pursuing a specialty area of practice, state salary data, and information about PANCE, the Physician Assistant National Certification Exam.
Physician Assistant Program Directories
Applying to a PA Program (PAEA)
Information regarding program accreditation, pre-requisites (including experience), program length, and advice regarding the application process is provided; multiple FAQs answered as well.
Overview of different types of PA programs (PAEA)
Explains the differences between Pre-Professional, Professional, and Professional Post-Graduate PA programs.
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant, Inc.
List of 250+ ARC-PA accredited PA programs, searchable by state, with links to website for each program. (Also provides link to PAEA program directory.)
Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) Program Directory
This PA program directory, searchable by state, provides detailed information about tuition, curriculum, degrees awarded, entrance requirements, etc. for each of the accredited and developing PA programs in the U.S.
Tennessee PA Programs (TAPA)
The Tennessee Academy of Physician Assistants site lists PA programs in Tennessee, with links to website for each program.
Application and Financial Planning
CASPA - Centralized Application Service for Physician Assistants (PAEA)
Overview of CASPA and link to CASPA site. PAEA offers the Centralized Application Service for Physician Assistants (CASPA). CASPA provides a simplified online process of applying to multiple physician assistant programs. The majority of PA programs participate in the CASPA system.
Create your PA profile (PAEA)
PAEA encourages the creation of a "PA profile." Doing so allows prospective or current PA program applicants to receive information PAEA considers relevant to the application process. "Choose what’s relevant to you, and we’ll customize the information and keep you updated while you prepare to apply to PA school."
Tennessee Physician Assistant Foundation Scholarships (TAPA)
The TN PA Foundation awards $500 scholarships: The J.C. Carey Memorial Scholarship and The James Montag, Jr. Scholarship (for PA students with military experience). Find qualification and application information here. NOTE: Deadline for submitting a scholarship application for the 2021-2022 academic year is June 30, 2021.