Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Finder (Subject area: General)
An alphabetic listing tool for locating the library's electronic resources. It is easy to navigate and provides access to the library's online titles including e-journals and individual articles in full-text databases.
Academic OneFile (Subject area: General) This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete (Subject area: General) This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
America : History and Life with Full Text (Subject area: History) This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Jacksonian Era, Part 1 (1823-1832) & Part 2 (1833-1842) - Jacksonian Era, Parts 1 and 2, 1823-1842 - Events covered include: Second Great Awakening, Lowell textile mills, Monroe Doctrine, Trail of Tears and Indian Removal.
War of 1812 (1812-1815) - Events covered include: Burning of Washington, "Star Spangled Banner" written, Tecumseh killed, Treaty of Ghent.
Era of Good Feelings (1816-1822) - Events covered include: Spain cedes FL to U.S., Missouri Compromise, Denmark Vesey executed.
Antebellum Period, Parts 1 & 2 (1843-1860) - Events covered include: Height of plantation slavery, California Gold Rush, Dred Scott decision, Mexican War.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
HeritageQuest Online (Subject areas: Genealogy and History) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (Subject area: History) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR (Subject area: Multiple disciplines) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text, scholarly journals dating back to the late 17th century covering a diverse range of subject areas.
LexisNexis Congressional (Subject area: Law) This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications and legislative research. Access to the Lexis-Nexis legal research databases is made possible by the Humphreys Law Collection, given in memory of Alison B. Humphreys.
MasterFILE Premier (Subject area: General) This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Military & Intelligence Database (Subject areas: Military Science and History) This link opens in a new window
A mostly full text military and intelligence-related topics database that searches over 600 magazines, journals and news sources.
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Civil War Era is the resource American history scholars have been waiting for--comprehensive primary source materials that were previously unavailable digitally, cover a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
Researchers will get the full story from nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865, that were specifically selected for the regional and diverse perspectives they offer. The pamphlets expand on individual perspectives of government officials, clergy, social reformists, and others. Newspapers are a perfect complement to these sources offering insights on a broader range of events. The newspapers included in Civil War Era provide a variety of editorial perspectives reflecting different regions and political orientations.
The Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Sourced from the collection of Tennessee State Library and Archives. Reproduced with permission.
Coverage: 1812 - 2002
Salem History (Subject area: History) This link opens in a new window
Online History reference materials from Salem press including primary resources, biographical information, and more.