Vise Library: Nursing: Nursing Print Periodicals

Library Resources

Full Text Finder (Subject area: General) This link opens in a new window
An alphabetic listing tool for locating the library's electronic resources. It is easy to navigate and provides access to the library's online titles including e-journals and individual articles in full-text databases.

Contact Us

chat loading...

Phone: 615-547-1299
Email: library@cumberland.edu

Print Periodicals

American Journal of Nursing
The American Journal of Nursing (AJN) is "the profession's journal," serving as the voice of nursing since 1900. AJN is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, monthly journal publishing a broad range of highly readable articles. With coverage of evidence-based clinical practice and incisive news analysis, trenchant commentary and original research, heart-felt reflection and hands-on nursing, Vise Library print holdings: January 1993 - February 2018
American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Covering the full spectrum of the specialty, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, "The Gray Journal", presents the latest diagnostic procedures, leading-edge research, and expert commentary in maternal-fetal medicine, reproductive endocrinology and infertility, and gynecologic oncology as well as general obstetrics and gynecology. Vise Library print holdings: January 1993 - March 2015
Applied Nursing Research
Applied Nursing Research presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regular features include "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section. Applied Nursing Research covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration. Vise Library print holdings: February 2002 - February 2018
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing disseminates original, peer-reviewed research that is of interest to psychiatric and mental health care nurses. The field is considered in its broadest perspective, including theory, practice and research applications related to all ages, special populations, settings, and interdisciplinary collaborations in both the public and private sectors. Through critical study, expositions, and review of practice, Archives of Psychiatric Nursing is a medium for clinical scholarship to provide theoretical linkages among diverse areas of practice. Vise Library print holdings: February 2002 - February 2014
Geriatric Nursing
Geriatric Nursing is a comprehensive source for clinical information and management advice relating to the care of older adults. The journal's peer-reviewed articles report the latest developments in the management of acute and chronic disorders and provide practical advice on care of older adults across the long term continuum. Geriatric Nursing addresses current issues related to drugs, advance directives, staff development and management, legal issues, client and caregiver education, infection control, and other topics. The journal is written specifically for nurses and nurse practitioners who work with older adults in any care setting. Geriatric Nursing is the official journal of the American Assisted Living Nurses Association, National Gerontological Nurses Association, Gerontological Advanced Practice Nurses Association and is indexed in Medline, ISI and CINAHL. Vise Library print holdings: January 1998 - January 2018
Health Education Research
Publishing original, refereed papers, Health Education Research deals with all the vital issues involved in health education and promotion worldwide - providing a valuable link between the health education research and practice communities.
Issues in Mental Health Nursing
Issues in Mental Health Nursing is a refereed journal designed to expand psychiatric and mental health nursing knowledge. It deals with new, innovative approaches to client care, in-depth analysis of current issues, and empirical research. Because clinical research is the primary vehicle for the development of nursing science, the journal presents data-based articles on nursing care provision to clients of all ages in a variety of community and institutional settings. Additionally, the journal publishes theoretical papers and manuscripts addressing mental health promotion, public policy concerns, and educational preparation of mental health nurses. International contributions are welcomed. Vise Library print holdings: December 2000 - December 2014
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is published 48 times per year in print/online issues, and new articles are published several times a week online. Without any author fees, all research articles are made free access online 6 months after publication on the JAMA website. All articles are made free access on an html app called JN Reader™ on the day of publication. In addition, the online version is freely available or nearly so to institutions in developing countries through the World Health Organization's HINARI program.
more...less...
Key Objective:
To promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health

Critical Objectives:
*To maintain the highest standards of editorial integrity independent of any special interests
*To publish original, important, valid, peer-reviewed articles on a diverse range of medical topics
*To foster responsible and balanced debate on important issues that affect medicine, health, health care, and health policy
*To provide physicians with continuing education in basic and clinical science to support informed clinical decisions and ongoing career development
*To enable physicians to remain informed in multiple areas of medicine, including developments in fields other than their own
*To improve health and health care internationally by elevating the quality of medical care, disease prevention, and research
*To inform readers about the various aspects of medicine and public health, including the political, philosophic, ethical, legal, environmental, economic, historical, and cultural
*To recognize that, in addition to these specific objectives, JAMA has a social responsibility to improve the total human condition and to promote the integrity of science
*To achieve the highest level of ethical medical journalism and to produce a publication that is timely, credible, and enjoyable to read
*To use technologies to drive innovation and improve the communication of journal content
Journal of Nursing Administration
JONA™ is the authoritative source of information on developments and advances in patient care leadership. Content is geared to nurse executives, directors of nursing, and nurse managers in hospital, community health, and ambulatory care environments. Practical, innovative, and solution-oriented articles provide the tools and data needed to excel in executive practice in changing healthcare systems: leadership development; human, material, and financial resource management and relationships; systems, business, and financial strategies. All articles are peer-reviewed, selected and developed with the guidance of a distinguished group of editorial advisors. Vise Library print holdings: 1994 - February 2018

JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation provides valuable information on the changing regulations affecting healthcare will keep readers up-to-date on this dynamic and critical aspect of the profession. Discussions of current problems and trends in healthcare law, and the ethics involved in ensuring quality patient care, are sure to assist readers in their leadership. Vise Library print holdings: 1999 - 2013
Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing
The Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, & Neonatal Nursing (JOGNN) is a peer-reviewed scientific and technical journal highly respected for groundbreaking articles on important - and sometimes controversial - issues affecting the health care of women and newborns. With a focus on nursing practice, JOGNN addresses the latest research, practice issues, policies, opinions, and trends in the care of women, childbearing families, and newborns. Vise Library print holdings: 1993, 1995 - 2014.
Journal of Pediatric Health Care
The Journal of Pediatric Health Care, the official journal of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, provides scholarly clinical information and research regarding primary, acute and specialty health care for children of newborn age through young adulthood within a family-centered context. The Journaldisseminates multidisciplinary perspectives on evidence-based practice and emerging policy, advocacy and educational issues that are of importance to all healthcare professionals caring for children and their families.
Journal of Professional Nursing
The Journal of Professional Nursing addresses the practice, research, and policy roles of nurses with baccalaureate and graduate degrees, the education and management concerns of the universities in which they are educated, and the settings in which they practice. Reports of original work, research, reviews, and policy papers focusing on professional nursing are published. Vise Library print holdings: 1994 - February 2016
MCN: the American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
MCN's mission is to provide the most timely, relevant information to nurses practicing in perinatal, neonatal, midwifery, and pediatric specialties. MCN is a peer-reviewed journal that meets its mission by publishing clinically relevant practice and research manuscripts aimed at assisting nurses toward evidence-based practice. MCN focuses on today's major issues and high priority problems in maternal/child nursing, women's health, and family nursing with extensive coverage of advanced practice healthcare issues relating to infants and young children.
New England Journal of Medicine
NEJM continues to be an essential source of information for physicians like you. A one-year subscription includes 52 weeks of landmark research and clinical insights including Original Articles, Review Articles, Case Records of the MGH, and much more.
Nursing
Nursing[year of publication follows] published its first issue in November 1971. Published monthly, Nursing[year of publication] is widely regarded as offering current, practical contents to its readers, and has won many editorial awards testifying to the quality of its copy and graphics. The editorial and clinical staff, a 18-member Editorial Board of distinguished clinicians and practitioners, and over 100 invited reviewers help ensure the quality of this publication. Vise Library print holdings: 2014 - 2017
Nursing Research
Nursing Research is a peer-reviewed journal celebrating over 60 years as the most sought-after nursing resource; it offers more depth, more detail, and more of what today's nurses demand. Nursing Research covers key issues, including health promotion, human responses to illness, acute care nursing research, symptom management, cost-effectiveness, vulnerable populations, health services, and community-based nursing studies. Each issue highlights the latest research techniques, quantitative and qualitative studies, and new state-of-the-art methodological strategies, including information not yet found in textbooks. Expert commentaries and briefs are also included. In addition to 6 issues per year, Nursing Research from time to time publishes supplemental content not found anywhere else.
Nursing Times
Nursing Times is the leading weekly magazine for nurses in the United Kingdom. The magazine and its website nursingtimes.net publish original nursing research and a host of clinical articles for nurses at all stages in their career. Nursing Times also provides a professional and clinical news service; an extensive Opinion section with in-depth features on nursing issues and topics. Vise Library print holdings: April 2010 - March 2016
Perspectives in Psychiatric Care
Perspectives in Psychiatric Care (PPC) is recognized and respected as THE journal for advanced practice psychiatric nurses. The journal provides advanced practice nurses with current research, clinical application, and knowledge about psychiatric nursing, prescriptive treatment, and education. It publishes peer-reviewed papers that reflect clinical practice issues, psychobiological information, and integrative perspectives that are evidence-based. Perspectives in Psychiatric Care includes regular columns on the biology of mental illness and pharmacology, the art of prescribing, integrative perspectives, and private practice issues.
Public Health Nursing
Public Health Nursing publishes empirical research reports, program evaluations, and case reports focused on populations at risk across the lifespan. The journal also prints articles related to developments in practice, education of public health nurses, theory development, methodological innovations, legal, ethical, and public policy issues in public health, and the history of public health nursing throughout the world. While the primary readership of the Journal is North American, the journal is expanding its mission to address global public health concerns of interest to nurses. Vise Library print holdings: 2006 - 2015
Public Health Reports
Public Health Reports (PHR) is the official journal of the Office of the U.S. Surgeon General and the U.S. Public Health Service and has been published since 1878. It is published bimonthly, plus supplement issues, through an official agreement with the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health. The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes original research, reviews, and commentaries in the areas of public health practice and methodology, public health law, and teaching at schools and programs of public health. Vise Library print holdings: 2013 - 2017
Tennessee Nurse
The Tennessee Nurse, the official publication of the Tennessee Nurses Association published by Arthur L. Davis Publishing Agency, is distributed to every licensed Registered and Practical Nurse in the state of Tennessee. The publication is also extended to each student nurse in the state, every School of Nursing, and each of our Tennessee and United States legislators. Vise Library print holdings: Winter 2005 - Present
Topics in Clinical Nutrition
Topics in Clinical Nutrition (TICN) is a peer-reviewed, quarterly journal designed as a resource for the continuing education and clinical practice of dietitians and nutritionists. Each issue addresses topics of interest primarily to dietitians and nutritionists, students and interns in professional training programs and other health care personnel involved in the nutritional care of patients. Articles include translational research reports (work that applies new knowledge to practical effect), practice projects, evidence-based literature reviews, case studies and book reviews, and articles that highlight education theory and applied research which share the tools and techniques of nutrition and dietetics education. Vise Library print holdings: 2013 - 2018
Women and Health
Women & Health publishes original papers and critical reviews containing highly useful information for researchers, policy planners, and all providers of health care for women. These papers cover findings from studies concerning health and illness and physical and psychological well-being of women, as well as the environmental, lifestyle and sociocultural factors that are associated with health and disease, which have implications for prevention, early detection and treatment, limitation of disability and rehabilitation.
Widely accepted as the standard reference source for specialists in the field, Women & Health contains information that is eminently useful to researchers, policy planners, and all providers of health care for women. The journal covers material involving the physical and psychological well-being of women, the sociocultural factors that lead to health problems, and issues of prevention, early diagnosis and treatment, the limitation of disability, and rehabilitation

Nursing Print Periodicals

Vise Library Nursing Journals
A list of all of the nursing journals Vise Library has in print, along with the date range of the library's holdings.

Nursing: Nursing Print Periodicals

Library Resources

Contact Us

Print Periodicals

Nursing Print Periodicals

What is Nursing?