Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Print Periodicals

History resources

Library Resources

Current Print Periodicals (updated spring 2019)

American Nineteenth Century History (Spring 2000 - Fall 2004)

Dedicated to covering the history of nineteenth century America, "the crucial formative period ... of the United States, when the national identity was shaped," this journal aims "to fill the gap between the major journals which cover the whole span of American history, and the more specialized journals devoted to shorter periods or particular themes. ... Slavery, race, the Civil War and Reconstruction will figure prominently in the journal, but this is not to be a journal simply of Civil War history." The journal also invites articles covering other periods and themes of the 19th century, "such as the evolution of American democracy and American nationalism, urban history, immigration and ethnicity, western history, and the history of women, African Americans and Native Americans."  Journal scope: "articles based on original research, reassessments of long-running historical controversies, ... reappraisals of prominent events or individuals," and book-reviews. 

--ResearchGate, https://www.researchgate.net/journal/1466-4658_American_Nineteenth_Century_History (acc. 1/18/20)

 

Civil War Times

Biographies, battles, eyewitness accounts & period photos of America’s greatest internal conflict. Includes travel guides, book reviews, etc. [Not peer-reviewed.]

--HistoryNet, https://www.historynet.com/civil-war-times (acc. 1/29/19)

 

French Historical Studies

The official journal of the Society for French Historical Studies…the leading journal on the history of France, publishes articles and commentaries on all periods of French history from the Middle Ages to the present. The journal’s diverse format includes forums, review essays, special issues, and articles in French, as well as bilingual abstracts of the articles in each issue. Also featured are bibliographies of recent articles, dissertations, and books in French history and announcements of fellowships, prizes, and conferences of interest to French historians. [Not peer-reviewed.]

Duke University Press, https://read.dukeupress.edu/french-historical-studies (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Historian

Founded in 1938, The Historian…seeks to publish only the finest of contemporary and relevant historical scholarship. It is the commitment of The Historian to serve as an integrator for the historical profession, bringing together the many strands of historical analysis through the publication of a diverse collection of articles. The Historian is also committed to promoting a comprehensive understanding of current historiographical debates and the most recent scholarship on contemporary historical concerns. In addition to its renown for the publication of original articles, The Historian is also noted for its extensive book review section….As part of its commitment to diversity and scholarship, The Historian encourages submissions from all levels of the historical profession and from all regional, temporal and thematic fields of history. [Not peer-reviewed.]

History Online, https://www.history.ac.uk/history-online/journal/historian (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The History of Education Quarterly

The History of Education Quarterly is an international, peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to publishing high-quality scholarship on the history of education. It is the official journal of the field’s leading professional society in the United States, the History of Education Society, and has been published continuously since 1960. The journal encourages submissions from a range of intersecting sub-fields in social, political, economic, intellectual, and cultural history, including (but not limited to): Urban History, Policy History, Sociology of Knowledge, Colonialism and Colonial Education, History of Childhood and Youth, Gender Studies, Ethnic History, Indigenous Education, Cultural Studies, Comparative History, and the History of Ideas.

Cambridge University Press, https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/history-of-education-quarterly# (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Journal of American History (JAH)

Published four times a year by the Organization of American Historians (OAH), the JAH is the leading scholarly publication and the journal of record in American history. The JAH publishes articles, interchanges, states-of-the-field, and the OAH’s yearly presidential address as well as reviews of books, digital history projects, exhibits, and movies.

Organization of American Historians, https://jah.oah.org/ (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Journal of Economic History

The Journal of Economic History (JEH) has been published continuously since 1940. It is now published quarterly in March, June, September, and December by Cambridge University Press in cooperation with the University of Michigan. The JEH seeks to promote the scholarly study of economic aspects of the human past from a diversity of perspectives, notably those of economists and historians, and to stimulate discourse among scholars with varied interests and modes of inquiry.

Economic History Association, https://eh.net/eha/publications/the-journal-of-economic-history/ (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era

The Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era is a peer-reviewed journal published quarterly by the Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE) with support from the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center. The Journal publishes original essays and reviews scholarly books on all aspects of U.S. history for the time period of 1865 through the 1920s. The Journal encourages submissions in every field of inquiry, including politics and government, social and cultural history, business, economic, and labor history, international relations, comparative and transnational history, issues of race, ethnicity, class, and gender, legal, intellectual, and religious history, science and medicine, technology, the arts, and material culture, rural and urban history, and regional history. Public historians and independent scholars as well as academic historians are invited to submit, as are social scientists working on historical issues and scholars in American Studies.

JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/journal/jgildageprogera?item_view=journal_info (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Journal of Modern History

The Journal of Modern History (JMH) is recognized as the leading American journal for the study of European intellectual, political, and cultural history. The Journal’s geographical and temporal scope-the history of Europe since the Renaissance-makes it unique: the JMH explores not only events and movements in specific countries, but also broader questions that span particular times and places.

JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/journal/jmodernhistory (acc. 1/29/19)

 

The Journal of Southern History

The Journal of Southern History, which is edited at and sponsored by Rice University, is a quarterly devoted to the history of the American South and is unrestricted as to chronological period, methodology, or southern historical topic. The Journal publishes refereed articles and solicited book reviews and book notes on all aspects of southern history. As the organ of the Southern Historical Association, which is headquartered in the Department of History at the University of Georgia, the Journal also publishes items pertaining to the business of the Association as well as news and notices of interest to historians of and in the South.

JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/journal/jsouthernhistory (acc. 1/29/19)

 

Medical History

Medical History is a refereed journal devoted to all aspects of the history of medicine, health and related sciences, with the goal of broadening and deepening the understanding of the field, in the widest sense, by historical studies of the highest quality.

--Cambridge University Press, https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/medical-history (acc. 1/29/19)

 

Nashville Retrospect

The Nashville Retrospect is a monthly newspaper devoted to Nashville nostalgia and history. It features reprints of long-forgotten news, articles by local historians, and remembrances by older Nashvillians. [Not peer-reviewed.]

--Nashville Retrospect, http://nashvilleretrospect.com/ (acc. 1/30/19)

 

Reviews in American History

Reviews in American History is a journal of ideas that offers anyone interested in American history a way to stay current with the discipline. Each issue presents in-depth review essays about the latest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works written by leading historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history, including cutting-edge and more traditional sub-fields. [Not peer-reviewed.]

--Johns Hopkins University Press, https://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/reviews-american-history (acc. 1/30/19)

 

Slavery & Abolition

Slavery & Abolition is the only journal devoted in its entirety to a discussion of the demographic, socio-economic, historical and psychological aspects of human bondage from the ancient period to the present. It is also concerned with the dismantling of the slave systems and with the legacy of slavery. The journal publishes research articles, comments, reflections and review articles. There are frequent special thematic issues and an important annual bibliographical supplement on slavery which provides the only comprehensive listing of books and articles in the field.

Taylor & Francis Online, https://www.tandfonline.com/action/journalInformation?show=aimsScope&journalCode=fsla20 (acc. 1/29/19)

 

Social History of Medicine

The journal of the Society for the Social History of Medicine is concerned with all aspects of health, illness, and medical treatment in the past. It is committed to publishing work on the social history of medicine from a variety of disciplines. The journal offers…articles on a variety of themes, critical assessments of archives and sources, conference reports, up-to-date information on research in progress, a discussion point on topics of current controversy and concern, review articles, and wide-ranging book reviews.

--Oxford Academic, https://academic.oup.com/shm/pages/About (acc. 1/30/19)

 

Tennessee Historical Quarterly

Established in 1942, the Tennessee Historical Quarterly (THQ) appears four times a year. The illustrated articles cover all aspects of Tennessee history, from first European contact to the late 20th century, and all regions of the state, while book reviews cover the latest publications on Tennessee history and related topics. The journal also often includes edited primary documents. Articles are reviewed by scholarly experts before publication.

--JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/journal/tennhistquar (acc. 1/30/19)

 

Victorian Studies

Victorian Studies is devoted to the study of British culture of the Victorian age. It regularly includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law, and science, as well as review essays and an extensive book review section. Victorian Studies is the official publication of the American Victorian Studies Association (NAVSA). Journal is edited by faculty and graduate students at Indiana University.

--Indiana University Bloomington, https://victorianstudies.indiana.edu/index.html and http://www.iupress.indiana.edu/pages.php?pID=96&CDpath=4 (acc. 1/20/19)

 

Vital Speeches of the Day

Vital Speeches of the Day is a monthly collection of the best speeches in the world. It was launched in 1934 on the old-fashioned premise that “it is indeed vital to the welfare of the nation that important, constructive addresses by recognized leaders in both the public and private sectors be permanently recorded and disseminated—both to ensure that readers gain a sound knowledge of public questions and to provide models of excellence in contemporary oratory. [Not peer-reviewed.]

--Vital Speeches of the day, https://www.vsotd.com/about (acc. 1/30/19)

 

Contact me