Skip to Main Content

Award-Winning Books: Miscellaneous Book Awards

Features titles of award winners such as the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King awards. Also includes the call number if the Vise Library owns a particular item.

Other Book Awards

Book awards are given annually by newspapers, magazines, journals, websites, institutes, non-profit organizations, libraries, and others in the book business. What follows are some examples of those awards, many of which may sound unfamiliar but have been given for several years. Some of what follows are links to lists of awards granted by year. It may sound like only "what everyone always says" but it really is an honor for an author to even be nominated for an award or have his/her book make the list of somebody's 100 notable books. The list is arranged alphabetically.     

The Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History

The Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History at the New-York Historical Society is a $50,000 prize co-sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and the New-York Historical Society. Each year the award recognizes the best book on military history in the English-speaking world distinguished by its scholarship, its contribution to the literature, and its appeal to both a general and an academic audience.

The Los Angeles Times Book Prizes

The Los Angeles Times Book Prizes are dedicated to discovering new voices and celebrating the highest quality of writing across the spectrum of book publishing. This year’s ceremony will mark 42 years of recognizing literary achievement.

"Military History Matters" Magazine's Annual Book Awards

Military History Matters magazine annually curates a list of the best military-history titles and asks its readers to vote for their favorite one.

The National Book Awards

The National Book Awards are given by the National Book Foundation. Its mission is to celebrate the best literature published in the United States, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in our culture. The National Book Foundation gives awards annually to books in the following categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People's Literature. 

The National Book Critics Circle

The National Book Critics Circle states its mission as follows: "Honoring outstanding writing and fostering a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature since 1974." Its annual book awards are very prestigious in the book world. Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories -- Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

The New York Times Book Review

Annually this influential publication issues a list of 100 Notable Books, 50 in fiction and 50 in non-fiction. From these, the editors curate a list of the 10 Best Books of the Year. 

The Society for American Baseball Research (SABR)

SABR strives to be the essential community for the world of baseball through its global membership, inclusive events, and all-encompassing research. The Dr. Harold and Dorothy Seymour Medal honors the best book of baseball history or biography published during the preceding calendar year.  

The Washington Post Book World

The book section of the newspaper selects top books in a variety of categories, including the Ten Best Books, 50 Notable Books in Fiction, 50 Notable Books in Non-Fiction, Best in Thriller or Mystery, Best in Audiobook, Best in Romance, Best Feel-Good, Science Fiction and Fantasy, Children and Young Adult, Graphic Novel, and Poetry Collection.    

The New York Times Ten Best Books of 2022

The National Book Foundation's National Book Awards