Skip to Main Content

Award-Winning Books: Carnegie Medals for Excellence

Features titles of award winners such as the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King awards. Also includes the call number if the Vise Library owns a particular item.

What are the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction?

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material. They are the first single-book awards for adult books given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. --


2012 Winners

2013 Winners

2014 Winners

2015 Winners

2016 Winners

2017 Winners

2018 Winner (no nonfiction book was awarded this year)

2019 Winners

2020 Winners

2021 Winners

2022 Winners

"The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu" by Tom Lin - 2022 Winner