Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Philosophy and Psychology section contains Reference Books concerning:
A. Philosophy; and
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
Call Number: R 103 A899
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
Written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: R 150.3 A111 APA
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
This second edition of a landmark reference resource is for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, and interested readers.
1) Provides definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions.
2) Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others.
3) Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics. 4) More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures.
5) Includes Three appendices; Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 3rd Ed., Vols. 1-4 by
Call Number: R 150.3 E56c v. 1, v. 2, v. 3, & v. 4.
Publication Date: 2000-11-09
Part of a set that overall contains information about two of the fastest-growing areas within psychology: neuroscience and biomedical research. The set blends these two expanding fields and contains over 1200 entries, of which over 60 percent are new or revised.
Psychology and Mental Health, v. 1 - 5 by
Call Number: R 150.3 S16p v. 1 - 5
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
This five-volume set covers not only the history of the field and the core aspects of behaviorism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology but also diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues, including many popular concepts.
1) Many of the essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs.
2) The essays cover topics such as multicultural psychology and the effect of culture on diagnosis and look at groups as divergent as Latinos, Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders, and the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities.
3) Some essays examine gender differences, in particular gender roles and conflicts.
4) Other essays examine important and developing issues in psychology, such as multiple intelligences, emotional intelligence, pharmaceuticals used in treatment, genetics, and the effects of hope, spirituality, and social support.
Survey of Social Science, Psychology Series, v. 1-6 by
Call Number: R 150.3 S963m
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Ethics, v. I-III by
Call Number: R 170.3 E54 v. 1 - 3
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
These three volumes contain 819 alphabetically-arranged entries relating to 27 categories of ethical challenges that confront society today. The entries describe the history, people, literature, movements, issues, associations, political action committees, and legal rulings relating to ethics.
Encyclopedia of Ethics, v. I-III by
Call Number: R 170.3 E56b2 v.1, v.2, & v.3
Publication Date: 2001-08-31
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics, v. 1-5 by
Call Number: R 174.2 R347e v.1, v.2, v.3, v.4, & v.5
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
This is a interdisciplinary study of the ethical and moral dimensions of human conduct in the areas of the life sciences and health care. It contains 460 articles and re-examines and expands on the previous edition.