Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Social Sciences section contains Reference Books on:
C. Political Science;
F. Public Administration;
G. Military Science;
H. Social Problems;
K. Costume and Personal Appearance;
L. Customs; and
21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook by
Call Number: R 301 T971 v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
21st Century Sociology provides, in two volumes, a focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as documenting the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry. Key features include:
1) A timely and comprehensive assessment of the 100+ specialty fields of sociology with contributions by leading international authorities in their area of expertise;
2) An examination of the four distinct phases of development in the history of sociological inquiry: a period of theoretical development; the emphasis on methodological development and refinement;
3) The phase of specialization; and a period that has taken representatives of the discipline into previously unexplored areas;
4) Discussion on the various traditional sub-fields of sociology such as: political sociology; educational sociology; rural sociology; criminology; occupational sociology; and minority relations, among others;
5) An exploration of the important new, evolving sub-fields, such as: environmental sociology; sociology of sports and leisure; military sociology; medical sociology; the sociology of food and eating; and the sociology of emotions, and sub-disciplines, such as women's studies, black studies, & gay and lesbian studies.
Survey of Social Science, Sociology Series by
Call Number: R 301.03 S963m v.1 - 5
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
The Series' articles examine diverse topics from fifteen fields of sociology: aging, social movements, culture, deviance, origins of sociology, demography, racial and ethnic relations, sex and gender, social change, social institutions, social stratification, social structure, socialization, sociological research, and urban life and rural life. There are 338 articles, averaging 6 pages each.
Encyclopedia of American Social History by
Call Number: R 301.09 E56c v. 1 - 3
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
The Handbook of Social Psychology by
Call Number: R 302 H236 vol.1, vol.2
Publication Date: 1998-02-12
This classic has been the standard professional reference for the field of social psychology for the past 50 years. Topics include emotions, self, automaticity, stigma, memory, and evolution, among others.
1) Social psychology's core concern is how do people think about, feel, and act toward one another?
2) Social Psychology's central questions have changed throughout the past 50 years and the scientific approaches to them have changed too.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
Call Number: R 304.8 E56b v.1 - 3
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Designed and written to be understood by college undergraduates, this set addresses questions such as where immigrants have come from; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture; and how American immigration has fit into worldwide migration patterns.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures, v. 1, North America by
Call Number: R 305.8 E56w
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Features coverage of every Native American culture that exists today in the United States and Canada. Besides, there is full coverage of such diverse groups as Cajuns, African Americans, Amish, Mormons, and Latinos.
Milestone Documents in African American History by
Call Number: R 305.89 M64f v. 1 - 4
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
This set covers 125 iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Among the sources included in the set are important legislative documents such as the Reconstruction era amendments; critical Supreme Court decisions; and iconic speeches and writings by leaders such as Sojourner Truth, Booker T. Washington, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.
Human Sexuality by
Call Number: R 306.703 H918b
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
According to the preface, this work updates and expands upon Robinson's Encyclopedia Sexualis (1936) and Ellis and Abarbanel's Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior (1961) and complements A Descriptive Dictionary and Atlas of Sexology (Greenwood, 1991). The latter features only brief definitions; this volume is able "to concentrate on longer articles and major issues."
1) Contributors come from a variety of fields: nursing, biology, history, sociology, psychology, anthropology, political science, and literature.
2) More than 200 signed articles cover a variety of sex-related topics, including Abortion, Cancer and Sexuality, Nazis and Sex, Paraphilias, and Virility and Machismo.
3) Sexuality in art, literature, and film is also treated. 4) Included are brief biographies of significant sex researchers, educators, and therapists, but "only deceased or elder statespersons" in the field, such as Alfred Kinsey and William Masters.
World Statistics Pocketbook 2011 by
Call Number: R 310.5 W927 2011
Publication Date: 2012-08-09
This edition of this annual publication compiles over 50 indicators collected from more than 20 international statistical sources and presented in one-page profiles for 216 countries or areas of the world.
1) This issue covers various years from 2000 to 2011.
2) For the economic indicators, in general, three years -- 2000, 2005 and 2010 -- are shown; for the indicators in the social and environmental categories, data for one year are presented.
3) The topics covered include: agriculture, balance of payments, education, energy, environment, food, gender, health, industrial production, information and communication, international finance, international tourism, international trade, labour, migration, national accounts, population and prices.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2011, 2012, 2013, 2018 by
Call Number: R 310.58 S797 2011, 2012, 2013, & 2018
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
Now in its 147th edition, The Statesman's Yearbook continues to be the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world. Covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects, the Yearbook is an essential resource.
Statistical Abstract of the U. S.,1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004-2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, & 2011 by
Call Number: R 317.3 U58s 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004-2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, & 2011
Publication Date: 12-30,1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004-2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, & 2011
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of the social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878. It is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. As a comprehensive collection of statistics, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 by
Call Number: R 317.3 U58s 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Publication Date: 2012-12-21, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. As a carefully selected collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. Includes: - Thousands of tables from hundreds of sources and valuable, detailed bibliographic documentation - Updated introductory sections and back-of-the-book index .
The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2011 - 2016 by
Call Number: R 317.3 W927 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Publication Date: 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
A treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information that contains thousands of facts unavailable publicly elsewhere; with a wide range of categories, including history, sports, geography, pop culture, and mu
C. Political Science
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics by
Call Number: R 320.082 S387e
Publication Date: 1998-11-16
In the 80 years since gaining the right to vote, women have continued to make their political voices heard. This is the first comprehensive work to describe the political struggles and achievements of American women, who were historically underrepresented in a system dominated by men. Containing over 700 entries in an A-to-Z format, this single volume provides balanced coverage of the people, issues, and events that shape any discussion of women in U.S. politics.
CQ′s Desk Reference on American Government by
Call Number: R 320.473 W542d
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
This one-volume desk reference provides quick answers to the most frequently asked questions about all aspects of U.S. government, including elections, Congress, the presidency, and the Supreme Court.
1) Includes many new questions such as: What was the Teapot Dome scandal? What are the requirements for being a senator? How did the two-party system develop? What was the largest presidential landslide?
2) Cross-references, a bibliography, and an index aid research.
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups by
Call Number: R 320.5303 A874
Publication Date: 2002-07-30
The number of extremists and extremist groups in the United States has increased dramatically in the last 20 years. This encyclopedia, the only one of its kind, provides the most up-to-date information on 275 of the most influential and significant homegrown extremists and extremist groups that have operated in the U.S. since 1950, as well as entries on important extremist events, terms, and concepts.
1) More than 75% of the coverage deals with the period since the 1980s, including subjects unavailable in other sources.
2) Objective entries focus on left-wing and right-wing individuals and groups who take extreme positions on political, economic, religious, or social issues.
3) Included is the latest information about the workings and agendas of established groups such as the Ku Klux Klan, and hard-to-find information on a variety of recent militia groups, cults, survivalists, and separatist movements.
4) Each entry is followed by a useful bibliography of books and articles for further research.
5) A timeline of events in American extremism and a selection of photos accompany the text.
6) Current through the end of 2001, this work is a valuable tool for authoritative information on what has become a growing problem in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America by
Call Number: R 324.273 E564 v.1, v.2, v.3
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
This reference features a section on the history of third parties in America since the Early Republic, and bibliographies of major players and candidates. Coverage ranges from national, regional, and state parties to the major political parties that predate the Democrats and the Republicans.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, v. I - III by
Call Number: R 327.73 D296e v.1 - 3
Publication Date: 1978
Provides in-depth interpretive essays, commissioned from foreign policy experts, explaining the concepts and historical trends that have guided and influenced American foreign policy throughout U.S. history.
Landmark Documents on the U. S. Congress by
Call Number: R 328.7309 L257c
Publication Date: 1998-10-15
A treasury of primary sources that explore the institution of Congress in the political life and history of the USA. It covers more than two centuries of events, including material on the conduct of senators and representatives, the origins of Congress, and congressional procedures.
The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Modern Economics
Call Number: R 330.03 M147m
Publication Date: 1965
Includes approximately 1,300 terms used in economics and finance.
The New Palgrave - A Dictionary of Economics by
Call Number: R 330.03 N532e v. 1 - 4
Publication Date: 2002-05-03
The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics brings together over 900 of the foremost economists, historians, and statisticians of our time, writing on a wide array of topics, from absolute and exchangeable value to zero-sum game.
1) This extensive reference work focuses on economic theory and the over 1,200 entries cover the discipline in all its varied aspects: analytical, empirical, quantitative, and methodological.
2) Over 700 biographical entries explore the lives of the leading minds in the field, including Friedman, Hotelling, Leontief, Samuelson, and von Newmann.
A Dictionary of Economics by
Call Number: R 330.3 S63d
Publication Date: 1962
Over 3,000 words, phrases, and titles.
Bulls, Bears, Boom, and Bust by
Call Number: R 330.973 D63b
Publication Date: 2006-10-19
An intriguing collection of insider information on little known aspects of commonly used business techniques, instruments, policies, and personalities that influenced the rise of the world's most successful business system. From mercantilism to microchips, indentured servants to venture capitalists, William Penn to Bill Gates.
1) Divided into five chronological sections, Bulls, Bears, Boom, and Bust ranges from colonial times to the present, charting the dramatic history of business innovations and institutions in the United States.
2) It contains over 200 topical entries that define business-related terms and explain their relevance to American business and economic history.
3) Also contains entries on innovative thinkers and entrepreneurs, namesakes of familiar companies, key political figures.
4) Over 350 entries on the techniques, instruments, policies, and personalities.
5) Over 150 biographical entries.
6) Bibliographic references at the end of each entry.
Standard Industrial Classification Manual by
Call Number: R 338.02 S785e
Publication Date: 1987
The classifications set forth herein covers the field of economic activities and industries in accordance with the composition and structure of the economy. This is the first major revision since 1972.
Encyclopedia of American Women in Business by
Call Number: R 338.092 K92e v.1, v.2
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
This encyclopedia chronicles the accomplishments of women in American business since the colonial era and discusses the historical events and issues that have concerned them. The encyclopedia additionally summarizes important legislation and organizations and covers such industries as accounting, advertising, banking, and manufacturing.
1) Quotations from the women profiled. Contains more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries on such American businesswomen as Lucille Ball, Clara Brown, Hattie Carnegie, Liz Claiborne, Abby Joseph Cohen, Jenny Craig, Carleton S. Fiorina, Jamie Gorelick, Rosa Maria Hinojosa de Balli, Abigail Pierrepont Johnson, Estee Lauder, Christine Liang, Martha Stewart, and many more.
2) Entries discuss the lives and careers of these women and cite works for further reading. The encyclopedia also includes roughly 100 interspersed entries on career planning, childcare, diversity, education, the finance industry, flexible work arrangements, golf, and real estate.
3) Appendices list the most influential businesswomen in America, the top women-owned American companies, and women business leaders from particular ethnic and cultural groups, historical periods, and industries.
4) Chronology details important events.
Black's Law Dictionary, 6th Ed., Centennial Edition by
Call Number: R 340.03 B626
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Preface; Pronunciation of Latin; Outline of Latin Pronunciations; Transcription System; Guide to Pronunciation Symbols; Text of Definitions; Appendices: Table of Abbreviations, Constitution of the United States; Time Chart of the United States Supreme Court; Organizational Chart of United States Government; Table of British Regnal Years.
A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage by
Call Number: R 340.03 G367
Publication Date: 2001-05-17
Garner's Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage gives authoritative guidance on all the vexing questions that legal writers face, from correcting grammatical errors to framing legal issues to distinguishing between similar but distinct legal terms.
1) With great detail and care, Garner explains what legalese is, how it can be simplified, and how far legal writers can go in simplifying it.
2) The topics are alphabetically arranged for ease of reference: simply look up any phrase or grammatical category you're interested in, and you're likely to find the final word on the subject.
3) A very reliable guide to legal usage and also fascinating to read.
Law Dictionary by
Call Number: R 340.03 G45l
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
A quick-reference source for lawyers, law students, legal professionals, and the interested layperson, this book defines more than 3,000 legal terms in non-technical language, but without sacrificing legal accuracy. Terms apply to civil procedure, commercial and contract law, constitutional law, criminal law, property law, and torts.
Legal Systems of the World by
Call Number: R 340.03 K92 v.1 - 4
Publication Date: 2002-06-20
Covers the legal systems of every nation on earth, every state in the Union, and every province of Canada. From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, this exhaustive four-volume set, with nearly 400 entries, explores the structure, operation, and history of legal and judicial systems.
1) Also analyzes transnational judicial bodies such as the World Court and the European Court of Human Rights.
2) Examines alternative legal systems from Roman to Islamic law.
3) Explains universal legal institutions and concepts, from law schools to constitutional review.
4) 400 A-Z entries on places from Scotland to Suriname, concepts and terms like legal realism and retribution, and key documents such as the Writ of Certiorari.
5) Highly readable maps.
6) Nearly 275 diagrams illustrating the legal structure of various states and countries.
7) A glossary of hundreds of key terms.
Great American Lawyers by
Call Number: R 340.092 V699 v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2001-06-08
This two-volume set offers unmatched insight into the lives and careers of 100 of America's most notable defense and prosecuting attorneys. Readers can explore the historic legal careers of extraordinary barristers like Thomas Jefferson, the young Virginia attorney who drafted the Declaration of Independence, and Daniel Webster, a staunch defender of the union.
1) Readers will also meet contemporary litigators like Lawrence Tribe, who led the fight against the tobacco industry; Marian Wright Edelman, a leading advocate for children's rights; Alan Dershowitz, renowned criminal appellate lawyer, and public intellectual; and Johnnie Cochran, the defense attorney in the O. J. Simpson trial.
2) Shorter essays on other well-known attorneys, including John Grisham, Barry Scheck, and Leslie Abramson.
3) Contributions from more than 50 lawyers, political scientists, historians, and other scholars.
4) Entries on famous law partners, Alexis de Tocqueville's view of American lawyers, great trials, and much more.
The Constitution and the Supreme Court, A Documentary History by
Call Number: R 342.73 P771c, v. I - II
Publication Date: 1966
This pair begins with the Declaration of Independence and the Articles of Confederation. There is explanatory text in addition to the documents and court opinions.
Deskbook Encyclopedia of Employment Law, 13th ed. by
Call Number: R 344.7301 D459e 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
This book provides a comprehensive selection of state and federal court decisions that impact employment. It covers a wide range of important topics including discrimination, employer liability, discipline and termination, employee benefits, and labor relations.
Trials of the Century by
Call Number: R 345.73 J66t v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2010-10-06
This comprehensive set of essays documents the most important criminal, civil, and political trials in the United States from colonial times to the present, examining their impact on both legal history and popular culture. Places trials in both historical and legal context.
1) Among the landmark cases considered are the 1692 Salem Witch Trials, the Scopes "Monkey" Trial, and the O.J. Simpson murder trial.
2) A number of civil lawsuits and political trials are also included, such as the impeachment trials of President Andrew Johnson and William Jefferson Clinton.
3) Entries in the encyclopedia detail the events leading to each trial and introduce the key players, with a focus on judges, lawyers, witnesses, defendants, victims, media, and the public.
4) The aftermath of the trial and its impact is analyzed from a scholarly, yet straightforward, perspective, emphasizing how the trial affected the law and society at large.
5) Chronological essays on American "trials of the century" from the colonial period to the modern era. 6) A chronology of famous cases and U.S. legal development.
7) Essay on the links between law and pop culture. 8) Biographies of key figures.
9) A bibliography of literature from the fields of law, politics, and popular culture.
Constitutional Law, 7th ed. by
Call Number: R 345.73 K
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
This edition is written and published for law enforcement personnel. Other books concern the entirety of the U.S. Constitution. Examples of chapters include Interrogations and Confessions, Assistance of Counsel, Self Incrimination, Authority to Detain and Arrest, Search and Seizure, etc. Also contains the text of court opinions in Part 2.
Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court by
Call Number: R 347.73 C749g
Publication Date: 1979-11-01
This reference work for the layman describes the origins of the Court; the Court and the Federal System; individual rights and liberties; Court administration; members of the Court; and major decisions made by the Supreme Court.
The Supreme Court A to Z by
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
This comprehensive, alphabetical encyclopedia of 300+ easy-to-read essays is the perfect first resource for anyone who wants reliable information or background material on the significant decisions of the Supreme Court, the history of the Court, the justices, the powers of the Court, and how the institution has evolved from its origins to the present.
Great American Judges by
Call Number: R 347.7314 V699 v. 1 - 2
Publication Date: 2003-06-23
Inspiring and instructive biographies of the 100 most influential judges from state and federal courts, Great American Judges profiles 100 outstanding judges and justices in a full sweep of U.S. history. Chosen by lawyers, historians, and political scientists, these men and women laid the foundation of U.S. law.
1) A complement to Great American Lawyers, together these volumes create a complete picture of our nation's top legal minds from colonial times to today.
2) A-Z biographical entries portray this diverse group from extraordinarily different backgrounds.
3) William Rehnquist, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., and 12 other Supreme Court justices are found alongside federal judges like Skelly Wright, who ordered school desegregation in 1960.
4) Influential state judges such as Rose Elizabeth Bird, California's first woman Supreme Court Chief Justice, are also featured.
5) 100 main A-Z entries and 50 shorter entries on lesser-known, but influential figures.
6) Contributions from historians, lawyers, political scientists, and other top scholars from across the nation.
The Vinson Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 B432
Publication Date: 2004-06-29
Spanning the years from 1946 until 1953, the Vinson Court made the legal transition from World War II to the Korean War, and the outspoken justices Felix Frankfurter and Hugo Black helped shape its legacy. Helps students and legal professionals understand the impact and tensions of Fred Vinson's term as Chief Justice from 1946-1953.
1) Court scholar Michal R. Belknap explores McCarthyism, the Cold War, racial segregation, and capital punishment from the Supreme Court's view. Issues include presidential powers, restrictions on political expression, and a nasty conflict over the Rosenbergs.
2) Significant rulings are reviewed, and the 12 justices are introduced.
3) Four narrative chapters on the justices, decisions, and legacy of the Vinson Court.
The Hughes Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 P261
Publication Date: 2002-07-11
An in-depth analysis of the workings and legacy of the Supreme Court led by Charles Evans Hughes. Hughes became chief justice in 1930, a year when more than 1,000 banks closed their doors.
1) Today the Hughes Court is often remembered as a conservative bulwark against Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal.
2) In an era when Nazi Germany passed the Nuremberg Laws and extinguished freedom in much of Western Europe, the Hughes Court put the stamp of constitutional approval on New Deal entitlements, required state and local governments to bring their laws into conformity with the federal Bill of Rights, and took the first steps toward developing a more uniform code of criminal justice.
3) Biographical portraits of the Hughes Court justices, including Harlan Fiske Stone, Hugo Black, Felix Frankfurter, and William O. Douglas.
4) Extensive analysis of the major decisions of the Hughes Court, particularly in the areas of civil liberties and government and the economy.
The Stone Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 R421
Publication Date: 2001-03-06
A comprehensive examination of the rulings, key figures, and legal legacy of the Stone Court. When President Franklin Roosevelt got the chance to appoint seven Supreme Court justices within five years, he created a bench packed with liberals and elevated justice Harlan Fiske Stone to lead them.
1) Roosevelt Democrats expected great things from the Stone Court; but for the most part, they were disappointed.
2) The Stone Court significantly expanded executive authority.
3) It also supported the rights of racial minorities, laying the foundation for subsequent rulings on desegregation and discrimination.
4) But whatever gains it made in advancing individual rights were overshadowed by its decisions regarding the evacuation of Japanese Americans. Although the Stone Court itself did not profoundly affect individual rights jurisprudence, it became the bridge between the pre-1937 constitutional interpretation and the "new constitutionalism" that came after.
5) Analyzes all of the important decisions that made up the Stone Court's "revolution"--particularly those that redefined the federal government's authority to regulate the economy and social welfare.
6) Profiles the life and career of each justice, including eminent jurists Hugo Black, William O. Douglas, and Felix Frankfurter.
The Taft Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 R421
Publication Date: 2003-05-12
An authoritative survey of the Taft Court, which served from 1921 to 1929, and the impact it had on the U.S. legal system, social order, economics, and politics.
1) William Howard Taft's experience in the executive branch gave him a unique perspective on the court's work.
2) He initiated judicial reform and was the prime mover behind the Judiciary Act of 1925, which gave the court wide latitude to accept cases based on their importance to the nation.
3) The Taft Court decided about 1,600 cases during its nine terms.
4) This book examines the "aggregate" personality of the court through discussions of individual voting characteristics, bloc alignments, and other patterned behavior.
5) It also charts the strengths and weaknesses of the rulings and demonstrates Taft's penchant for increasing the impact of decisions by pursuing consensus among the justices, two of whom were his own appointees when he served as president. 6) An A-Z set of entries on the people, laws, events, and concepts that are important to an understanding of the Taft Court A photograph of and a brief bibliography on each justice
The Warren Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 U78
Publication Date: 2001-03-06
A survey and analysis of the historical context, key figures, and lasting legacy of the Warren Court.
1) Earl Warren served as chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1953 until the end of the tumultuous 1960s.
2) This book shows why conservative critics still view this court as out of control and leftist, while its liberal fans still cheer what they view as the court's progressive activism.
3) Among this court's contributions to American life are the rights accorded to the accused in Miranda v. Arizona, the limits it placed on school prayer, and the abolition of school segregation in Brown v. Board of Education.
4) To understand such basic American principles as equal protection, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom of religion, separation of church and state, the rights of the accused, and the right to privacy, every citizen should understand the Warren Court.
5) Significant background on the New Deal origins of the Court's legal philosophy Survey of the Court's decisions in seven areas: equal protection, reapportionment, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, religion, rights of the accused, and privacy.
The Burger Court by
Call Number: R 347.7326 Y26
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
A valuable analysis of the political environment, judicial records, and implications of rulings during the era of the Burger Court.
1) The Burger Court delivered significant decisions in cases involving the separation of powers, equal protection, free speech, and civil liberties.
2) The Burger Court guaranteed in Roe v. Wade a woman's right to an abortion, demonstrating that this court definitely had a mind of its own.
3) This handbook is as suitable for the preparation of term papers and debates as it is for ready reference and more involved research.
4) Includes extensive reference materials such as further reading and bibliographical sections directing users to primary sources and Court documents
5) Covers key people such as Archibald Cox and Gerald Ford, laws such as the Equal Rights Amendment and the Voting Rights Act, and events such as the Iranian Hostage Crisis and the Watergate Scandal.
Tennessee Law of Evidence, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: R 347.768 C678t
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
The authoritative guide to the law of evidence in Tennessee. Includes both civil and criminal evidentiary issues.
Encyclopedia of American Law by
Call Number: R 349.7303 S387
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
A collection of issues, terms, concepts, court cases, history, and people to provide all citizens with a clear overview of the major points of American law. Makes the law comprehensible to all laypeople.
F. Public Administration
Handbook of Public Management Practice and Reform by
Call Number: R 351 L763
Publication Date: 2001-03-27
Outlines the origins, motivations, strategies, implementations, and effectiveness of reform policies and programs. Examines changes and challenges in major areas of public administration, including budgeting, finance, human resources, and organizational management, and reviews the lessons of reform.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by
Call Number: R 351 R116, v. 1 - 2, Supplement
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Provides detailed coverage of watershed policies and decisions from such fields as privatization, biomedical ethics, education, and diversity. Includes military administration, government procurement, social theory, and justice administration in developed democracies. Covers public administration in the Middle East, Africa, Southeast Asia, the Pacific, and Latin America.
G. Military Science
Dictionary of Military Terms by
Call Number: R 355.003 D554
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
Fully revised and updated reference work on the language of modern war, providing definitions and explanations for more than 10,000 current military terms and abbreviations.
H. Social Problems
Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations, 5th ed. by
Call Number: R 362.11 C31r, v. 1 - 2
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
This book has become a standard in the field.
1) The three-volume set covers the enterprise-wide continuum of care and associated risk and has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the current changes in the health care environment.
2) The Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations offers current information, regulatory and legal updates, and assessment tools that will prove invaluable to both new and seasoned risk managers.
Addictions and Substance Abuse by
Call Number: R 362.29 A23m, v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This set contains 400 alphabetically arranged essays on a variety of topics, including substances of abuse, treatment and addiction overviews, organizations and foundations dedicated to treatment and prevention, physiological and psychological issues and behaviors, trends and statistics, and social contexts and concerns related to substance abuse.
1) Includes advertising and media influence, aging, ethnicity, and children and substance abuse.
2) The essays are written for non-specialists by medical professionals and medical writers.
3) Substance abuse essays include the following: Causes, Risk Factors, Symptoms, Screening and Diagnosis, Treatment and Therapy, and Prevention. Essays cover diagnosis, physiology, prevention, psychological issues, socials issues, treatment, and other topics related to behavioral addictions and substance abuse.
4) Appendices at the end of volume two supplement the set: a glossary provides hundreds of definitions of commonly used terms; a bibliography offers citations for published sources for additional research, and a timeline details major developments in addictions and substance abuse.
5) Other appendices include a list of web resources, addictions support groups, organizations and treatment centers, and a list of pharmaceutical treatments, categorized by brand name.
Americans with Disabilities ACT Handbook
Call Number: R 362.4 A512e
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Published by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Includes regulations and analysis.
Technical Assistance Manual of the Employment Provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act by
Call Number: R 362.4 T255e
Publication Date: January, 1992
Call Number: R 363.3 C396 v. 1 - 3
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Censorship includes 997 articles, 4 appendices, 3 indexes, 265 illustrations, and 35 maps, charts, tables, and sidebars. From the arts, education, literature, politics, religion, science, war, and many other subjects.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
Call Number: R 363.7 E56a v. 1 - 4
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
This newly revised edition provides a wealth of information for students and general readers on the very relevant topic of the environment. Articles cover an amazing range of topics - from endangered animal species and air pollution to smog and urban planning. 300 new articles are included, and all of the original essays have been re-evaluated for currency and accuracy. Plus, complimentary online access is provided through Salem Science.
Police Officer Exam by
Call Number: R 363.22 S381
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
This manual prepares police officers to take any of the various exams given throughout the country to qualify for promotion to the rank and responsibilities of police sergeant.
1) A diagnostic test and three full-length practice exams are presented with answers and explanations.
2) Subject review sections cover data analysis, police science, and community policing programs.
3) Added features include brief practice-and-review quizzes and police assessment exercises with explained answers that are based on tests given by major police departments across the United States.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science by
Call Number: R 363.25 C752
Publication Date: 2002-06-30
Techniques and devices used to analyze crime scene evidence have long fascinated the public.
1)This reference covers all aspects of forensic science: Types of evidence, Types of crimes or conditions, Criminal cases, Criminal and civil law, The disciplines of criminal justice, Poisons and drugs, The evolution of forensics, Forensic scientists and officials, Serial killers, Relevant literature, characters, and writers
2) The study focuses on the criminal and societal effects of forensic science in the United States, with attention paid to major British and French advances.
3) The book also examines historical cases in which new techniques were first applied. 4) Entries are arranged both alphabetically and topically, making them easily accessible to student and amateur sleuth alike.
Security Consulting by
Call Number: R 363.2 S478s
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
This edition introduces the security professional to the career and business of consulting.
1) It provides practical guidelines for the consultant such as how to market his business, how to submit consulting proposals, how to prepare final reports, how much to charge and how to invoice.
2) New information on marketing, fees and expenses, and forensic consulting is included, as well as chapters on the use of computers and the need for professional growth.
Forensic Science by
Call Number: R 363.25 F71e v.1 - 3
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
This is a comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and application of the various forensic sciences.
1) The past decade has seen an explosion of interest in the application of scientific techniques to investigations of crime. Television audiences have developed a seemingly insatiable appetite for shows such as CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Cold Case that go into the minutiae of how forensic techniques are used to solve crimes.
2) "Forensic Science" examines this subject with a factual approach, while also addressing the kinds of topics that figure prominently in the media and offering up-to-date material in a rapidly changing field.
3) Scope and coverage: ""Forensic Science"" approaches its subject from multiple directions. One of the primary approaches is from the points of view of forensic investigators.
4) In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, such as arson, homicide, and computer crime; both general and specific investigative techniques, such as autopsies, ballistics, chromatography, crime scene photography, fingerprint analysis, and polygraph analysis; specialized equipment, such as bomb and nuclear detection devices; and types of evidence, such as fire debris, fibers and filaments, glass, and blood residue and stains.
5) A second broad approach taken by "Forensic Science" is its coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system. The set includes brief articles on some of the most important federal legislation applying to controlled substances, such as the Harrison Narcotic Act of 1914, and the Anabolic Steroid Act of 1990.
6) A third broad approach taken is its extensive coverage of specific historical subjects. These range from overviews of ancient criminal cases and mysteries and ancient science in law and courtrooms to examinations of such high-profile modern cases as the O.J. Simpson murder trial, the Unabomber case, and famous Hollywood forensic cases. The set also includes essays on such subjects as the Lindberg baby kidnapping case and the exhumations of Presidents Zachary Taylor and Abraham Lincoln.
The FBI by
Call Number: R 363.25 T48f
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
This work offers a one-volume reference to one of the world's most powerful law enforcement agencies.
Topics include a brief history of the FBI's role and powers; notable cases; FBI oversights and liaison relationships; the FBI in American popular culture; and a chronology of key facts.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences by
Call Number: R 363.2503 E5642 v. 1 - 3
Publication Date: 2000-08-24
The Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences provides comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques, and applications employed by forensic scientists.
1) One of the more pressing concerns in forensic science is the collection of evidence from the crime scene and its relevance to the forensic analysis carried out in the laboratory.
2) The Encyclopedia will serve to inform both the crime scene worker and the laboratory worker of their protocols, procedures, and limitations.
3) The more than 200 articles contained in the Encyclopedia form a repository of core information that will be of use to instructors, students, and professionals in the criminology, legal, and law enforcement communities.
The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice by
Call Number: R 364.03 O263
Publication Date: 2002-06-14
A handy reference for students, professionals, and anyone interested in criminal justice and criminology, The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice is an excellent, wide-ranging resource with clear definitions for over 2,000 key criminal justice terms.
1) Often going beyond simple definitions, the dictionary presents and explains common misperceptions for selected entries.
2) The concise definitions of terms will be easily accessible to a wide audience¾ from students in introductory courses to professionals looking to brush up on key terms.
3) Some of the topics covered in entries include: abduction, cycle of violence, eyewitness testimony, facial reconstruction, habeas corpus, La Cosa Nostra, Nuremberg Principle, Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO), typology, Walker spy ring, and zoophilia.
The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime by
Call Number: R 364.1 D496e
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
"The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime" is a comprehensive reference to organized crime in the global era and to the world's most notorious crime syndicates.
1) Whether their business is counterfeiting, prostituting, gambling, smuggling, extorting, or thieving, this book covers all the major criminal groups, their origins, their practices, and their place in the global underworld in more than 450 entries.
2) Exposed here are Asian gangs such as the Yakuza, the Triads, and the Tong; the Jamaican Posse of the Caribbean; the drug cartels of South America; the Russian Mafia; and other powerful world criminal leaders.
3) Not only is each of these groups a significant criminal power in its home territory, but many have also infiltrated the American underworld.
4) This fascinating look at the world's most active international criminals will provide hours of informative reading for anyone interested in criminology and organized crime.
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States by
Call Number: R 364.66 P1749
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
This encyclopedia presents a tremendous amount of information about capital punishment in the United States.
1) There are entries on virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court from its beginning through 1999.
2) Entries are also provided for each Supreme Court Justice who has ever rendered a capital punishment opinion.
3) Entries on jurisdictions that do or do not have capital punishment cite the present-day relevant death penalty laws of each jurisdiction and its judicial structure, with synopses of both their common and their unique features.
4) There are entries that summarize the status of capital punishment in almost 200 nations of the world, famous and not so famous U.S. capital prosecutions, organizations that support and oppose capital punishment, capital punishment's impact on persons of African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American backgrounds, on women, and on foreign nationals, and the various methods of execution.
5) Capital punishment by the military is also included.
CQ′s Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice by
Call Number: R 364.973 B2615
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
This reference work provides basic information, descriptions, and explanations of how laws governing criminal behavior are made and enforced, and corrections for those who violate criminal law.
1) Where do police get their power over citizens? Who polices the police? What is the difference between parole and probation? What is the recidivism rate for prisoners? What is the difference between civil and criminal law? What is an arraignment?
2) Answers to these and over 500 more questions are found in CQ's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice.
3) This reference format provides easy-to-find information for students and citizens who need to acquire a basic and comprehensive understanding of our system of law enforcement, courts in the context of criminal law, and corrections.
4) Also covers questions on public issues such as police brutality, prison reform, and juvenile justice.
The Historical Atlas of American Crime by
Call Number: R 364.973 R813h
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
This historical atlas presents a geographic overview of the development of crime in America dating back to colonial times. 1) Covering all varieties of crime, from murder to fraud, from organized crime to terrorism, these pages contain a survey of significant criminal developments in United States history.
2) Emphasizing cases that were the first of their kind, new types of crime, crimes peculiar to certain regions, and those too infamous to be ignored, it demonstrates how geography, shifting populations, Western expansion, and technology shaped crime and the development of American society.
3) Organized in discrete historical periods, the entries are informative and objective.
4) The text is illustrated with photographs, including shots of crime scenes and reproductions of artwork, and maps.
The Encyclopedia of American Prisons by
Call Number: R 365.973 S623
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
A history of prisons in America, covering the full gamut of the American penal system.
Entries include important figures such as famous and infamous wardens, notable prisoners, prisons, escapes, prison riots, fires, prison security, convict labor, scandals and triumphs, terminology, and more.
The International Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: R 370.3 I612179, v. 1 - 12
Publication Date: 1994-04-19
Entries include girls and women in education, the history of education, anthropology, philosophy of education,, and instructional psychology.
1) Authors were selected on the strength of their 'worldwide' knowledge of the topic on which they were asked to write.
2) The authors of over 1,200 entries represent 96 countries.
3) Entries dealing with educational and policy planning, the economics of education, vocational education, and comparative education.
PRAXIS, 10th Ed. by
Call Number: R 370.76 P111
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
From the international leader in test prep. Measuring reading, writing, and math skills, as well as a prospective teacher’s chosen specialty area, the PRAXIS is a crucial step for certification.
1) Kaplan PRAXIS Tenth Edition offers test takers the review and strategies they need to pass this essential exam.
2) Included are six full-length practice tests, four subject assessment question banks, detailed answer explanations, sample written responses, and an in-depth review of all tested material.
3) Includes test information, and strategies for prospective teachers.
4) It has all the resources teachers need to pass these certification exams, in one convenient package.
Encyclopedia of Special Education, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: R 371.903 E5636w v. 1-3
Publication Date: 1999-11-05
A reference guide for the education of the disabled and other exceptional children and adults.
Students with Disabilities and Special Education, 24th ed. by
Call Number: R 371.91 S933d
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Beacham's Desktop Guide to Literature for Intermediate Students by
Call Number: R 372.6044 B365b, v. 1-8
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
This 8 volume set focuses on literature for students in grades 4-6. It focuses on fiction, nonfiction, and biographies that are well-suited for a literacy-centered curriculum using an integrated language arts approach.
Graduate Study in Psychology by
Call Number: R 378.15 G73 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Graduate Study in Psychology is the best source of information related to graduate programs in psychology and provides information related to approximately 600 graduate programs in psychology in the U.S. and Canada.
New GRE 2011-2012 by
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Strategies Practice and Review. This edition offers focused in-depth strategies, test information, and practice questions to help students succeed on the GRE revised General Test.
Kaplan MAT, 5th Ed. by
Call Number: R 378.16 M111
Publication Date: 2010-08-03
A prerequisite for entrance into many graduate or postgraduate programs in the arts and sciences is the Miller Analogies Test (MAT).
1) With the fifth edition of Kaplan's MAT, students preparing to take this challenging exam will have a competitive edge.
2) A high MAT score can also be used to support an application for financial aid in a graduate or doctoral program.
3) Through analogies with content from various academic subjects, the MAT is designed to reflect a candidate's knowledge and abilities by determining their analytical thinking abilities.
4) Includes more than 700 sample analogies, plus Kaplan's exclusive test-taking strategies to maximize students' scores.
5) Seven practice tests with detailed answer explanations.
6) Review of the general knowledge tested on the MAT, including literature, history, vocabulary, mathematics, fine arts, and more Strategies for answering different types of analogy questions.
Barron's Miller Analogies Test, 11th Ed. by
Call Number: R 378.16 S839
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
This updated manual prepares prospective test takers for success on the MAT, a timed word-association test that is widely used to screen applicants to graduate level academic programs.
1) The MAT is also used as a placement exam for management positions in many businesses.
2) The book's main features include:
A diagnostic test and ten full-length practice exams; Self-scoring answer keys following each test; Approximately 1,300 additional practice questions with answers;
Advice to help test takers solve analogy problems; Helpful brush-up check-lists cover graduate-level vocabulary with brief word definitions;
Selected foreign words and phrases used in English with their meanings;
And names of important persons in history, science, technology, and the arts that test-takers should be able to recognize.
Scholarship Handbook 2010 by
Call Number: R 378.3 S36c
Publication Date: 2009-07-07
The Scholarship Handbook 2010 provides the most complete and authoritative facts about more than 1.7 million awards, including scholarship, internship, and loan programs, offered to undergraduates by foundations, charitable organizations, and state and federal government agencies.
Every entry is verified by the College Board to be legitimate, up to date, accurate, and portable to more than one college.
Book of Majors 2017 by
Call Number: R 378.73 C69b
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
The Book of Majors 2017 helps students answer these questions: What's the major for me? Where can I study it? What can I do with it after graduation?
1) Revised and refreshed every year, this book is the most comprehensive guide to college majors on the market.
2) In-depth descriptions of 200 of the most popular majors are followed by complete listings of every major offered at more than 3,800 colleges, including four-year and two-year colleges and technical schools.
3) The 2017 edition covers every college major identified by the U.S. Department of Education - over 1,200 majors are listed in all.
4) This is also the only guide that shows what degree levels each college offers in a major, whether a certificate, associate, bachelor's, master's, or doctorate.
5) The guide features:-insights - from the professors themselves - on how each major is taught, what preparation students will need, other majors, to consider, and much more.-updated information on career options and employment prospects.-the inside scoop on how students can find out if a college offers a strong program for a particular major, what life is like for students studying that major, and what professional societies and accrediting agencies to refer to for more background on the major.
Higher Education Law in America, 10th ed. by
Call Number: R 378.73 H63 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Covers topics such as computer privacy, search and seizure, discrimination, student rights, cheating, freedom of speech, negligence, employment issues, and plagiarism.
Higher Education Law in America, 11th ed. by
Call Number: R 378.73 H63 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-21
Covers free speech, plagiarism, disciplinary actions, employment, grading, athletics, student privacy, discrimination, and sexual harassment.
Higher Education Law in America, 12th ed. by
Call Number: R 378.73 H63 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
Covers free speech, plagiarism, disciplinary actions, employment, grading, athletics, student privacy, discrimination, and sexual harassment.
Higher Education Law in America by
Call Number: R 378.73 H63 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-26
Covers free speech, plagiarism, disciplinary actions, employment, grading, athletics, student privacy, discrimination, and sexual harassment.
Higher Education in the United States by
Call Number: R 378.7303 F716 v. 1 - 2
Publication Date: 2002-06-21
Surveys the changing landscape of American higher education, from academic freedom to virtual universities, from campus crime to Pell Grants, from the Student Privacy Act to student diversity.
1) In the years following World War II, college and university enrollment doubled, students revolted, faculty unionized, and community colleges evolved. Tuition and technology soared, as did the number of first-generation, minority, and women students.
2) These changes radically transformed the American system of postsecondary education.
3) Today, that system is in trouble. Its aging professoriate prepares for retirement, but low academic salaries can no longer attract the best minds to replace them.
4) A flood of corporate dollars funds commercial research, but money for basic research--the seedbed of American scientific preeminence--has dried up.
5) Colleges and universities also face heated competition with for-profit education providers for students, faculty, and external financial support, along with the costs of providing remedial education to growing numbers of students who are unprepared for postsecondary education.
6) Higher Education in the United States provides a comprehensive analysis of these issues and others that scholars and practitioners of higher education study, discuss, and grapple with on a daily basis.
7) More than 200 entries from more than 150 higher education scholars and experts around the country 8) An extensive bibliography to guide further study, including research studies and websites.
9) An annotated chronology of important events in higher education from 1940 to the present.
10) Detailed reviews of 42 important books on higher education, arranged chronologically.
Centennial of Cumberland Women: 1893-1993 by
Call Number: R 378.76 B96c
Publication Date: 1993
A narrative account of the progress of education of women in the south.
A History of Cumberland University by
Call Number: R 378.768 B71h
Publication Date: 1935
The history of the university from its founding in 1842 until the date of publication of 1935. Written by the 6th president of the university.
Phoenix Rising: 150 Years of Cumberland University by
Call Number: R 378.768 B967p
Publication Date: 1992
Written in connection with the 150 anniversary of the founding of the university by the school's historian.
The Yearbook of Education Law 2003 by
Call Number: R 379.73 Y39t 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Published by the Education Law Association. Topics include employees, school governance, pupils, bargaining, students with disabilities, torts, sports, higher education, & international law.
K. Costume and Personal Appearance
The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion 3rd ed by
Call Number: R 391 C14f
Publication Date: 2002-10-09
The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion, 3rd Edition, defines more than 15,000 fashion terms, including apparel, accessories, and their components; historical and textile terms that relate to contemporary fashion; and the language of the fashion business.
1) Its organization of 51 broad categories, such as activewear, blouses and tops, clothing, construction details, footwear, headwear, jewelry, laces, necklines, shirts, skirts, and waistlines, promotes comprehension of related terms.
2) Categories are fully cross-referenced to the alphabetical listing.
3) Includes terms not readily found in ordinary dictionaries and pronunciation guides for foreign words.
4) An appendix of designers includes emerging leaders.
5) Lavish illustrations by Bina Abling enhance definitions, capturing both the details and style of fashion.
6) This dictionary is the ideal reference for designers, fashion media, instructors, students, historians, and fashion enthusiasts.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by
Call Number: R 391 C74g v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and Clothing in World History gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time.
1) Also provides a general history to help put the costumes in context.
2) This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to the present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia.
3) Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are included.
4) This set is a critical guide for students interested in history, social history, art history, fashion, and costume.
5) It covers the history of clothing throughout the world from pre-historic times to 2006.
6) Many cultures are included in this study of clothing within the context of social, political, economic, and religious history as they pertain to each time period and place.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume by
Call Number: R 391 P295
Publication Date: 1996-03-17
The Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume offers complete descriptions and cultural contexts of the dress and ornamentation of the many nations that have shared this continent.
1) The book is divided into ten cultural regions, with each chapter giving an overview of the regional clothing.
2)Tribal information includes men's and women's basic dress, footwear, outerwear, hairstyles, headgear, accessories, jewelry, armor, special costumes, garment decoration, face and body embellishment, and transitional dress after European contact.
3) This beautifully designed book contains more than 150 photographs and illustrations.
4) Voted an Outstanding Academic Book by Choice Magazine.
Encyclopedia of World Costume by
Call Number: R 391.003 Y29e
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Published in encyclopedia format, defining words in alphabetical order, this book covers historical and cultural costumes and accessories. Primarily in black and white, most of the definitions are accompanied by inked illustrations, which show wonderful detail.
The Pictorial Encyclopedia of Fashion by
Call Number: R 391.009 K99f
Publication Date: 1968
Translated from German, presents fashion from Ancient Egypt until 1968.
Encyclopedia of Hair by
Call Number: R 391.5 S553 Enc
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
Examines the ways in which hair has served as a signifier of class, gender, ethnicity, conformity/nonconformity, authority, and power throughout history.
1) Countless issues and examples are explored in this volume including hairstyles of royalty; wigs worn by lawmakers and judges; ceremonial hairstyles of tribes throughout the world; Oliver Cromwell's Roundheads; hair in the counterculture (including the musical Hair); skinheads, Mohawks and punk style; the hairstyles of First Ladies; celebrity hairstyles; women shaving their heads to subvert gender and sexuality stereotyping; the entire hair-care industry; the search for a cure to baldness; and diseases and disorders related to hair.
2) Broad topics in this book include hair arrangement/styling; care and cleansing; business and commercial aspects; laws and legal matters; trends and trendsetters; and health and science.
3) An introductory essay explores the universal human interest in hair and hair-styling throughout history and around the world.
4) It is followed by alphabetically arranged entries, each including sources for further reading.
5) This work is highly relevant to the study of class, gender, popular culture, and politics.
6) A lavish set of color and halftone illustrations.
Chase's Calendar of Events 2018 by
Call Number: R 394.26 C487 Cha
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
Find out what's going on any day of the year, anywhere across the globe The world's datebook, Chase's is the definitive day-by-day resource of what America and the world are celebrating and commemorating. From celebrity birthdays to historical anniversaries, from astronomical phenomena to national awareness days, from award ceremonies and sporting events to religious festivals and carnivals. 12,500 entries plus extensive appendices.
The Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend by
Call Number: R 398.03 F982f , v. I - II
Publication Date: 1949
Contains over 4000 entries about folk stories and songs, gods, heroes, fairies and demons, angels and devils, ogres, guardian spirits, witches, vampires, and zombies of many cultures.
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore, and Symbols by
Call Number: R 398.03 J62d, part I - II
Publication Date: 1961
Briefly describes the folklore, myths, symbols, names, beliefs, personalities, and customs of all major cultures, religions, and civilizations.
The Greenwood Library of World Folktales by
Call Number: R 398.2 G81g, v. 1-4
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Presenting tales from the foundations of the world's traditions, literature, daily life, and popular culture, The Greenwood Library of World Folktales: Stories from the Great Collections gathers together a vast array of folktales and arranges them according to region or cultural group, thus allowing students to quickly and conveniently learn about the tales of particular cultures.
1) Some of these stories have been told for centuries, while others have emerged only in recent times.
2) The four-volume set includes introductory essays in addition to explanatory headnotes, and provides bibliographies on particular regions as well as a selected, general bibliography.
3) The most comprehensive work of its kind, this set gives students and general readers a guided tour of the world's folktales.
4) Each volume of the set is devoted to a particular broad geographic region:
Volume 1: Africa, The Middle East, Australia and Oceania
Volume 2: Asia
Volume 3: Europe
Volume 4: North and South America
5) This book will help literature students learn how to analyze texts and understand the traditions at the heart of many of the world's literary masterpieces.
6) It will also help social studies students learn about the world's cultures and respect ethnic diversity.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by
Call Number: R 398.2 G81h v.1-3
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
This Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world.
1) Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors.
2) Entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics.
3) Each entry cites works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a bibliography of print and electronic resources.
4) Literature students will welcome this book as an aid to understanding and analyzing folk and fairy tales as literary forms, while social studies students will appreciate it as an exploration of the essence of world cultures.
Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes, and Archetypes by
Call Number: R 398.203 C737b
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
These essays explore the nature and influence of myth and mythic figures in the context of literature. Alphabetically organized, there are four main categories, the cosmos, psyche, society and history/politics. Entries include legendary places, historical heroes and also non-European myths.
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife by
Call Number: R 398.352 E56l v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2008-12-08
A vast body of women's folklore has come out of a cosmos of goddesses and she-devils, earth mothers and madonnas, witches and queens, saints and whores.
1) International in scope and drawing on more than 130 expert contributors, this encyclopedia reviews the myths, traditions, and beliefs central to women's daily lives.
2) More than 260 alphabetically arranged entries cover the lore of women across time, space, and life.
3) Students of history, religion and spirituality, healing and traditional medicine, literature, and world cultures will value this encyclopedia as an indispensable guide to women's folklore.
3) Includes material on the Caribbean, Central Asia, the Middle East, and Western Europe.
4) Entries provide cross-references and cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected bibliography of print and electronic resources.
5) Students learning about history, world cultures, religion and spirituality, healing and traditional medicine, and literature will welcome this companion to the daily life of women across time and continents.