Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Sciences and Mathematics section includes Reference Books regarding:
A. Natural History;
E. Geology, Hydrology, & Meteorology;
F. Fossils and Prehistoric Life;
J. Genetics and Evolution;
K. Plants and Flowers;
N. Cold-Blooded Vertebrates;
O. Birds; and
A. Natural History
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution by
Call Number: R 509.4 E56 Enc
Publication Date: 2000-06-13
With unprecedented current coverage of the profound changes in the nature and practice of science in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Europe, this comprehensive reference work addresses the individuals, ideas, and institutions that defined culture in the age when the modern perception of nature, of the universe, and of our place in it is said to have emerged. Covering the historiography of the period, discussions of the Scientific Revolution's impact on its contemporaneous disciplines, and in-depth analyses of the importance of historical context to major developments in the sciences, The Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution is an indispensable resource for students and researchers in the history and philosophy of science.
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by
Call Number: R 510 P957 Pri
Publication Date: 2008-09-28
Presents nearly two hundred entries that introduce basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; trace the development of modern mathematics; explain essential terms and concepts; examine core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describe the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; explore the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music--and more.
1) Features nearly 200 entries, organized thematically and written by an international team of distinguished contributors.
2) Presents major ideas and branches of pure mathematics in a clear, accessible style.
3) Defines and explains important mathematical concepts, methods, theorems, and open problems Introduces the language of mathematics and the goals of mathematical research.
4) Covers number theory, algebra, analysis, geometry, logic, probability, and more.
5) Traces the history and development of modern mathematics.
6) Profiles more than ninety-five mathematicians who influenced those working today.
7) Explores the influence of mathematics on other disciplines Includes bibliographies, cross-references, and a comprehensive index.
Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians, vols. 1 - 4 by
Call Number: R 510 S434 vols. 1 - 4
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Drawn from the Dictionary of Scientific Biography, the giants of mathematics are detailed in this 4-vol. set with more than 1,000 entries.
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy, v. 1-2 of the Mathematical Sciences by
Call Number: R 510.9 C737g v. 1-2
Publication Date: 1994
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
Call Number: R 540.3 R615
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
The Encyclopedia of Chemistry is the definitive reference. Includes thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide college students with the most complete information available.
1) Encyclopedia of Chemistry presents an engaging, interactive approach to learning.
2) Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies on the Internet, including links to informative websites and summaries of chemistry-related resources.
3) A special section listing all Nobel Prize winners in chemistry, a bibliography, and references cited section complete this informative encyclopedia.
4) Examples of entries include atomic mass unit, binary fission, Boyle's law, cheleotropic reaction, enzyme induction, Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit, g-factor, Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle, Krebs' cycle, nuclear binding energy, photosynthesis, polymerase chain reaction, radiocarbon dating, suicide inhibition, and thermonuclear energy.
Nursing Calculations by
Call Number: R 513.02 G185
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
This book reviews the basic arithmetic required to calculate drug dosages accurately and quickly - an essential skill for every nurse.
1) Examples are drawn from clinical practice.
2) Explanations and graded exercises (with answers) cover the calculations required to administer injections, tablets, and mixtures, to dilute solutions, to arrive at different drip rates, and to administer pediatric dosages safely.
3) In this edition, all drug usage material has been reviewed and updated.
4) Exercises have been added to assist in the learning process.
E. Geology, Hydrology, and Meteorology
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Call Number: R 551.2103 E5648
Publication Date: 1999-10-23
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes.
1) Through its thematic organization around the melting of the earth, it provides a comprehensive source of information on the multidisciplinary influences of volcanic eruptions--both the destructive as well as the beneficial aspects.
2) The majority of the chapters focus on the geo-science-related aspects of volcanism (radioactive heat source, melting rock, the ascent of magma, surface phenomena associated with exiting magma, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.).
3) In addition, complementary chapters discuss the multidisciplinary aspects of volcanism; these include the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of the Sea by
Call Number: 551.46003
Publication Date: 2000-10-17
The first comprehensive, fully illustrated, and highly readable reference on almost everything that is known about the sea.
1) Ellis's research has taken him all over the world--from Nantucket to Patagonia, from Newfoundland to New Zealand.
2) Now he leads us on a great journey: from the amazing diversity of the creatures of the oceans to the birds who inhabit the skies above them; from the little-known realms of marine geography to the men and women who have bravely explored them; from the fabulous legends the sea has inspired through the ages to the intriguing evolution of the tools of nautical navigation.
3) With more than 450 of the author's own drawings and paintings accompanying the text, Ellis reveals the many wonders of the oceans--abalone, zooxanthellae, and everything in between.
4) We learn about the peculiar behavior of Vampyroteuthis infernalis (the "vampire squid from hell") and about Mocha Dick, the real sperm whale that may have inspired Melville's Moby-Dick; where the crown-of-thorns starfish gets its name and how the rare coelacanth, cousin to a species extinct for 70 million years--and one of the most mispronounced fish in the sea--was rediscovered.
5) We visit lovely and exotic locations from Venice to Ni'ihau (Hawaii's "forbidden isle"), and consider both the fearsome Kraken (a mythical sea monster often seen by Scandinavian clergymen) and the notorious real-life pirate Captain Kidd (whose hidden treasure was never found).
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather by
Call Number: R 551.5 S359 A-K
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
This two-volume encyclopedic work consists of climate and weather deliberately designed to encompass a wide range of natural science subjects, as well as the social sciences that have contributed to the understanding of both the causes of weather and climate change and their effects on the environment and society. includes related subjects such as biomes, fuels, forested areas, oceans, glaciers, historic events, exotic species, economic opportunities, and new energy systems.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming, vols. 1 - 3 by
Call Number: R 551.6 E56d vols. 1 - 3
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
The categories in this set include animals; Arctic and Antarctic; astronomy; chemistry; climatic events; conferences and meetings; diseases and health effects; economics and industries; energy; ethics, human rights; fossil fuels; geology; laws and treaties; oceanography; organizations and agencies; physics and geophysics; pollution and waste; science and technology; and water resources.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils by
Call Number: R 552 B622f
Publication Date: 2005-02-05
A detailed and extensively illustrated handbook.
1) The colors, shapes, and properties of minerals vary from bland to magnificent.
2) Each of the 600 specimens is shown in full color, sometimes in two or more forms.
3) There are also drawings that show the structure of the crystalline specimens.
4) It covers the basics like granite, as well as oddities like meteorites and tektites.
5) Fossils include sponges, corals, arthropods, brachiopods, and fossil land plants.
6) Each is described in detail, with notes on color and transparency grain size hardness structure occurrence mineralogy distinguishing features habit cleavage texture alteration luster
7) Mineral names, chemical formulae and structural data accord to international standards.
F. Fossils and Prehistoric Life
Call Number: R 567.9103 G5679d
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
The definitive reference work on dinosaurian genera.
1) Section I provides a thorough history of fieldwork, laboratory studies, and paleontological research, and outlines several of the scientific theories of dinosaur extinction.
2) Section II provides dinosaurian systematics toward the end of organizing the various taxa into a convenient and workable order.
3) Section III is an alphabetically arranged compilation of dinosaurian genera.
4) Section IV details the doubtful genera that have appeared in the paleontological literature.
5) Section V lists "excluded genera," or taxa that had been previously regarded as dinosaurian.
6) This heavily illustrated volume contains many depictions of life models constructed by experts in vertebrate paleontology restoration and based on the original fossil material.
Five Kingdoms by
Call Number: R 570 M331f
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
The third edition of this work covers all the groups of living organisms and has new concise introductory sections on the general features of each of the five kingdoms: bacteria; Protoctista; animals; fungi; and plants - including background information and definitions. Photographs, some by Karlene Schwartz, drawings and brief essays describe representative members of each phylum.
A Dictionary of Biology by
Call Number: R 570.3 D5544
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
Contains biographical entries on key scientists and comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.-- Over 4,000 clear and concise entries-- Examples include heat-shock protein, zinc finger, integrated pest management, and oxidative burst-- Feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms-- Chronologies chart the discoveries in the main fields of the subject.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology by
Call Number: R 570.3 F142
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
In this reference, more than 3000 entries cover basic biological terms and concepts as well as names of organs, biological processes, genera, and species.
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics by
Call Number: R 570.3 L736
Publication Date: 1998-06-25
Contains over 11,000 entries, providing a working dictionary within the broad arena of biodiversity studies. The coverage cuts across classical disciplines (botany, zoology, bacteriology, mineralogy, paleontology, etc.), focusing particularly on concepts, strategies, and methodologies. Special attention is given to terminology relating to molecular techniques and to terminology generated by initiatives in the study of biological diversity and global climate change.
H. Physiology and Related Subjects
The Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by
Call Number: R 571.603 F142
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Cell biology is relevant to medicine, agriscience, biotechnology, and genetics. This dictionary contains definitions of over 2000 terms, in language that should be comprehensible to the non-specialist.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry by
Call Number: R 572.03 F142
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Biochemistry is relevant to other biosciences and to medicine. This dictionary offers concise explanations of over 2000 key terms in the field. It includes a network of cross-references and over 60 illustrations. Contains a number of useful lists, tables, and a bibliography.
J. Genetics and Evolution
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution by
Call Number: R 576.803 E56 v.1 - 2
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
All aspects of evolution, including theories, researchers, history, philosophy, processes, plants, and animals, are covered in this reference work. It includes thought-provoking essays on such topics as culture in chimpanzees, motherhood, and Darwinian medicine, all written by recognized scholars in the fields. Extensive indexing makes any topic easy to locate.
K. Plants and Flowers
Trees of North America by
Call Number: R 582.16 B864
Publication Date: 2001-04-14
This premier field guide features all characteristics-tree shape, bark, leaf, flower, fruit, and twig-for quick identification, making it a superior choice for trail walks, creating displays, and scientific or commercial needs.
1) All of North America in one volume.
2) Over 730 species in 76 families and 160 range maps.
3) Native species and important introduced foreign varieties. 4) Text, range maps, and illustrations are seen together at a glance.
5) Common and scientific names -Convenient measuring rules.
Guide to the Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines of Tennessee by
Call Number: R 582.16 W844
Publication Date: 2002-12-23
Tennessee is home to more than four hundred species of woody plants and this is a comprehensive guide to them.
1) Provides identification keys to all native and naturalized species of trees, shrubs, and woody vines found in the state.
2) The book is organized by plant types, which are divided into gymnosperms and angiosperms.
3) For each species treated, the authors include both scientific and common names, a brief description, information on flowering and fruiting seasons, and distribution patterns.
4) Photographs illustrate more than ninety-five percent of species, and the text is fully indexed by families and genera, scientific names, and common names.
5) A glossary is keyed to photographs in the text to illustrate definitions.
Systematic Bacteriology, v.1, v.2 a, b, c by
Call Number: R 589.9 B496k v.1, v.2 a, b, c
Publication Date: 2001-05-18
This Manual is one of the most comprehensive and authoritative works on the subject. Includes revolutionary changes, such as a phylogenetic classification of prokaryotes based on sequencing of the small ribosomal subunit. The list of validly named species has more than doubled since the publication of the first edition, and descriptions of over 2000 new and realigned species are included in this new edition along with more in-depth ecological information about individual taxa and extensive introductory essays by leading authorities in the field.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology by
Call Number: R 591.03 A416
Publication Date: 1992-10-29
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology contains over 6,000 entries, many gleaned from the highly-acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History. This dictionary offers comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of subjects such as animal behavior, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, and zoogeography. In addition, there is the full taxonomic treatment of specific animal groups, from arthropods and other invertebrates to fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. With biographical notes on important figures in the history of zoology and reflects the current emphasis on ecology in the study of animals.
Encyclopedia of Animals by
Call Number: R 591.03 E56
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
A comprehensive overview of the animals of the world features hundreds of photographs, paintings, diagrams, and maps, along with authoritative information on the behavior, life cycle, and habitats of a wide range of mammals, reptiles, birds, and amphibians.
A Dictionary of Entomology by
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
This book is a comprehensive, fully cross-referenced collection of approximately 35,000 terms, names, and phrases used in entomology.
1) It is the only listing that covers insect anatomy, behavior, biology, ecology, histology, molecular biology, morphology, pest management, taxonomy, and systematics.
2) The origin, etymology, part of speech, plural forms, and definition of each term and phrase are all provided, including the language, meaning, or root of each term and constituent parts.
3) Where meanings have changed, or terms have been borrowed from other disciplines, the most current usage is indicated.
4) Names of deceased entomologists or scientists from other fields who have contributed to entomology are included, with the citation for their biography or obituary.
5) The list of names in this magnificent reference is global, including entomologists from Asia, whose research has often been neglected by Western scientists.
Kaufman Field Guide to Butterflies of North America by
Call Number: R 595.78 B864
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
The most user-friendly butterfly guide ever published, still handy and compact. Includes color plates of Mexican-border rarities. More than 2,300 images of butterflies in natural poses. Pictorial table of contents. Convenient one-page index. Range maps on text pages.
N. Cold-Blooded Vertebrates
A Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes by
Call Number: R 597.092 P132
Publication Date: 1998-01-15
This field guide to freshwater fishes covers all 790 species known in the United States and Canada. More than 700 illustrations, most in color, show identifying marks. Also includes 377 distribution maps and additional drawings of key details.
Sharks of the World by
Call Number: R 597.3 C736
Publication Date: 2005-02-13
This comprehensive field guide covers all 440-plus shark species.
1) Color plates illustrate all species, and detailed accounts include diagnostic line drawings and a distribution map for each species.
2) Introductory chapters treat physiology, behavior, reproduction, ecology, diet, and sharks' interrelationships with humans.
3) More than 125 original full-color illustrations for fast and accurate identification of each shark family.
4) Over 500 additional drawings illustrating physical features from different angles.
5) Clear identification information for each species with details of size, habitat, behavior, and biology.
6) Quick ID guide helpful for differentiating similar species.
7) Geographic distribution maps for each species.
Turtles of the World by
Call Number: R 597.92 E65
Publication Date: 1992-11-17
Discusses each family separately with keys to genera and species. Summarizes the classification of every known turtle species. Includes descriptions and illustrations of turtle anatomy, a discussion of turtle origins, as well as karyotype, reproductive, and ecological information. The authors pinpoint causes for the decline of turtle populations and offer suggestions to reverse the effects of over-collecting, killing for food, environmental poisoning through insecticides and herbicides, and habitat destruction.
Venomous Snakes of the World by
Call Number: R 597.96 M298
Publication Date: 1993-04-01
Shows and describes a variety of poisonous snakes discusses venom extraction and offers practical advice on acquiring, feeding, housing, and breeding venomous snakes.
Call Number: R 597.96 M444
Publication Date: 1999-09-15
With spectacular close-up photographs & astonishing illustrations, this extraordinary book is the guide to more than 3,000 snakes from around the world.
The Encyclopedia of Birds by
Call Number: R 598.2 E53
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
This expensive fully illustrated volume gives excellent information on all kinds of birds arranged by their general size.
Field Guide to the Birds of North America by
Call Number: R 598.2 F543n
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Aids in the identification of all species known to breed in North America, describing their appearance, behavior, natural habitat, and rarity.
Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons of North America by
Call Number: R 598.2 J6
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
The definitive volume on the biology of North American falconiform (hawklike) birds. These beautiful winged predators have long excited human admiration and scientific curiosity. Paul A. Johnsgard writes with a keen appreciation of both interests, appealing to the serious birder as well as the ornithologist.
The Birder's Handbook by
Call Number: R 598.297 E33
Publication Date: 1988-06-15
The Birder's Handbook is a portable library of fascinating information.
1) For each of the 646 species of birds that breed in North America, The Birder's Handbook will tell you at a glance:
* Where the bird nests, and which sex(es) build(s) the nest;
* How many eggs the bird lays, what they look like, which patent incubates and for how long, and how the young are cared for;
* Food preferences and foraging habits.
* You will also find information about displays and mating, wintering, conservation status, and much more.
2) In addition, The Birder's Handbook contains some 250 short essays covering all aspects of avian natural history.
Wild Cats of the World by
Call Number: R 599.75 S958
Publication Date: 2002-08-15
Wild Cats of the World is a treasure trove for anyone who's interested in learning more about the world's felids.
1) Authors have spent more than a decade researching information about cats from every available source, many of them quite difficult to find, including scientific papers, descriptions of hunts, archeological findings, observations by naturalists and travelers, reports from government agencies, and newsletters from a wide variety of organizations.
2) Weaving information from these sources together with their own experiences observing wild cats around the world, the authors have created the most comprehensive reference on felids available.
3) Each of their accounts of the 36 species of cat contains a description of the cat, including human interactions with it, as well as detailed data on its distribution, ecology, and behavior, status in the wild, and efforts to conserve it.
4) Numerous photographs, including more than 40 in full color, illustrate these accounts.
5) Ranging from the two-pound black-footed cat to the five-hundred-pound tiger, and from the African serval with its satellite-dish ears to the web-footed fishing cat of Asia, Wild Cats of the World will fascinate and educate felid fans.