Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Literature & Rhetoric section contains Reference Books concerning:
A. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias;
B. Writing Instruction;
D. History and Criticism;
F. American Literature;
G. English Literature;
G1. English Poetry; and
G2. English Drama.
A. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by
Call Number: R 801.1 P925n
Publication Date: 1993-05-09
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.
1) Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
2) Entries vary in length from relatively brief notices to substantial articles of about 20,000 words.
3) The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics accounts for the extraordinary change and explosion of knowledge within literary and cultural studies since the 1970s.
4) Topics include those on cultural criticism, discourse, feminist poetics, Chicano poetry, & developments in theory.
5) Bibliographies of secondary sources are extended, cross-references among entries, & non-Western poetries.
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia by
Call Number: R 803 B4656
Publication Date: 1996-08-30
The entries explore all aspects of literature from around the world: biographies of poets and playwrights, novelists and belle trists; plot synopses, and character sketches from important works; historical data on literary schools, movements, terms, and awards; myths and legends; and more. 1) This fourth edition captures the diversity of today's canon, with greater attention to African-American, Eastern, Middle Eastern, African, South American, Eastern European, and women's literature.
2) Over 10,000 informative entries.
3) Biographies of poets, playwrights, novelists, essayists, and belle trists from around the world and through the ages, from Aristophanes to Toni Morrison.
4) Plot summaries of important literary works, ranging from Beowulf to Wuthering Heights.
5) Sketches of principal characters from literature, from Salome to Leopold Bloom.
6) Myth, legend, and folklore, covering everything from Isis to the paladins.
7) Biographies of artists, musicians, philosophers, and other historical personages ranging from Roman emperors to U.S. presidents who figure prominently in literature.
8) Accounts of significant schools and movements in literature, such as the Bloomsbury Group and the Beat writers.
9) Original titles, as well as the most familiar English titles, for works in languages other than English.
10) Recipients of major literary awards, including Pulitzer and Nobel prize winners.
B. Writing Instruction
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: R 808.02 C532 Chi
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process.
1) For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today.
2) Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer a clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century.
3) The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books.
3) An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup.
4) A revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing.
5) The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources.
6) Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: R 808.02 M111 MLA
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format.
1) Works are published in a variety of ways: print, online, e-book, or audiobook.
2) Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more.
3) Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source.
4) It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy.
5) It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
6) Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
The Little, Brown Handbook by
Call Number: R 808.04 F786 Lit
Publication Date: 2011-10-13
The Little, Brown Handbook provides reliable and thorough coverage of handbook basics--the writing process, grammar and usage, research and documentation--while also giving detailed discussions of critical reading, academic writing, reading and writing arguments, writing in the disciplines, and public writing. Widely used by both experienced and inexperienced writers, The Little, Brown Handbook works as both a comprehensive classroom text and an accessible reference guide.
AMA Manual of Style, 10th ed. by
Call Number: R 808.06 A111
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
The AMA Manual of Style provides editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. 1) The world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex.
2) The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective.
3) The 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content.
4) Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication.
5) The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature.
6) Assists growing international medical community. 7) Offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.
Masterpieces of World Literature by
Call Number: R 808.8 M19m
Publication Date: 1991-08-19
Philosophy and fantasy, plays and poems, essays and epics -- 270 literary classics that range from The Divine Comedy and Death Comes for the Archbishop to The Aeneid and The Grapes of Wrath are summarized and analyzed in this essential reference.
D. History and Criticism
Masterplots, v. 1 - 12 by
Call Number: R 809 M194m, v. 1 - 12
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
A classic reference work for more than sixty years, Masterplots provides fundamental reference data, plot synopses and critical evaluations of the most important works in all genres throughout history and around the world. titles new to this edition include Frank McCourt's Angela's Ashes, Barbara Kingsolver's The Bean Trees, Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient, J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter novels, J. R. R. tolkien's The Hobbit, John Keats's Ode on a Grecian Urn, and John Irving's The World According to Garp.
The Dictionary of Imaginary Places by
Call Number: R 809.9337 M277d
Publication Date: 1987-09-01
From Atlantis to Xanadu and beyond, this Baedeker of make-believe takes readers on a tour of more than 1,200 realms invented by storytellers from Homer's day to our own.
1) Here you will find Shangri-La and El Dorado; Utopia and Middle Earth; Wonderland and Freedonia. Here too are Jurassic Park, Salman Rushdie's Sea of Stories, and the fabulous world of Harry Potter.
2) The history and behavior of the inhabitants of these lands are described in loving detail and are supplemented by more than 200 maps and illustrations that depict the lay of the land in a host of elsewhere.
3) A must-have for the library of every dedicated reader, fantasy fan, or passionate browser, Dictionary is a witty and acute guide for any armchair traveler's journey into the landscape of the imagination.
F. American Literature
Encyclopedia of Frontier Literature by
Call Number: R 810.3 S673
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
From the fifteenth to the nineteenth centuries, the American frontier gave rise to myths, legends, and a body of literature celebrated around the world. This volume encompasses the works of professional and amateur writers -- both fiction and nonfiction -- that shaped the genre. Special care is taken to include and highlight the contributions of women and minorities to frontier literature. Complete with illustrations, general index, and several useful appendixes, this volume is an indispensable reference.
American Literary Almanac by
Call Number: R 810.9 A51213f
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
As a compendium, the book is organized into nineteen sections, each one containing facts preceded by or expanded with anecdotal stories on some aspect of American writers. The work's purpose is to provide "an overview of our literature as organized by topics. . . . The focus is on major writers, but. . . we have covered interesting minor writers, as well."
Encyclopedia of Beat Literature by
Call Number: R 810.9 E56h
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Since the 1950s, the experimental style, bohemian life, and rebellious attitudes of the Beats have influenced literature and culture.
1) The deaths at the end of the 20th century of such Beat figures as Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs renewed interest in the lives and work of writers who have held underground appeal for generations of young adults.
2) Some Beat writers and their associates, such as Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, LeRoi Jones (Amiri Baraka), and Denise Levertov, are now included in classroom anthologies; others have popular appeal for their unorthodox writing style and anti-authoritarian point of view.
3) In an A-to-Z format, this work covers the literary origins and key figures of the Beat movement.
4) More than 500 entries cover: synopses of fiction, poetry and essays by Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs and other major Beat writers, with notes on background and critical reception.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature by
Call Number: R 810.9 O36e
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Asian Americans have been writing and publishing since the 19th century, but today the popularity and importance of Asian-American literature is greater than ever.
1) "Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature," a comprehensive encyclopedia, traces American writers whose roots are in all parts of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, India, the Middle East, and more.
2) Coverage emphasizes works that are important in the high school and college literary canon, as well as the historically significant and the contemporary. 3) The coverage includes: Carlos Bulosan; Donald Duk; Sui Sin Far (Edith Maude Eaton); Jessica Hagedorn; David Henry Hwang; Maxine Hong Kingston; Interpreter of Maladies; Gish Jen; Ha Jin; The Joy Luck Club; Jhumpa Lahiri; Chang-rae Lee; Bharati Mukherjee; Native Speaker; No-No Boy; Naomi Shihab Nye; John Okada; Cathy Song; Amy Tan; Waiting; and The Woman Warrior.
The Companion to Southern Literature by
Call Number: R 810.9975 C737
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Neither a survey of masterpieces nor a biographical sourcebook, The Companion to Southern Literature treats every conceivable topic found in southern writing from the pre-Columbian era to the present, referencing specific works of all periods and genres.
1) Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice magazine.
2) Top scholars in their fields offer original definitions and examples of the concepts they know best, identifying the themes, burning issues, historical personalities, beloved icons, and common or uncommon stereotypes that have shaped the most significant regional literature in memory.
3) Read the copious offerings straight through in alphabetical order (Ancestor Worship, Blue-Collar Literature, Caves) or skip randomly at whim (Guilt, The Grotesque, William Jefferson Clinton).
4) The Companion's authority, scope, and variety in tone and interpretation will prove a delight. Explored here are literary embodiments of the Old South, New South, Solid South, Savage South, and Lazy South.
5) As up-to-date as grit lit and postmodernism, and as old-fashioned as Puritanism, mules, and the tall tale, these five hundred entries span a reach from Lady to Lesbian Literature.
6) The volume includes an overview of every southern state's belletristic heritage while making it clear that the southern mind extends beyond geographical boundaries to form an essential component of the American psyche.
7) Includes 250 contributors, scholars, writers, and poets, 2 tables of contents, alphabetical and subject entries, and a complete index.
8) A separate bibliography for most entries.
G. English Literature
A Dictionary of Biblical Allusions in English Literature by
Call Number: R 820.9 F963d
Publication Date: 1965
Analysis of over 300 most frequently used allusions, including words, phrases, people, and places, by English and American authors since the year 1611.
Written for Children, 6th ed. by
Call Number: R 820.99 T748
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Authoritative history and analysis of the best British and American children's literature through 1994, with a new 2003 postscript on J.K.Rowling and Philip Pullman.
G1. English Poetry
Chaucer A to Z by
Call Number: R 821.1 R834c
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
An encyclopedic guide to the fourteenth-century poet's life and works examines Chaucer's language, historical events, and literary influences in his work.
G2. English Drama
Concordance to Shakespeare by
Call Number: R 822.33 G10
Publication Date: 1979
A complete concordance or verbal index to words, phrases, and passages in the dramatic works of Shakespeare, with a supplementary concordance to the poems.