Reference: History, Geography, & Biography

Concise, comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process. Detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism. For the fifth edition, Mary Lynn Rampolla -- who is active in the fields of both history and composition -- provides more practical help with basic skills and new coverage of more sophisticated critical-thinking skills such as analyzing an assignment, reading critically, and constructing a strong argument.

Black Firsts is a testimony to the rich but often overlooked history of black life in America-and throughout the world.
1) This new edition collects and celebrates the thousands of world-moving people and hard-to-find facts and accomplishments that have helped shape society and culture.
2) It recognizes and honors both renowned and lesser-known barrier-breaking trailblazers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, invention, journalism, religion, science, sports, music, and more.
3) With more than 350 photos and illustrations.

Many of us think of European countries as discreet entities--their own languages, cultures, food, and economies squarely contained within their national boundaries. But in fact, Europe is at once a unified place and a sophisticatedly fragmented one, and national boundaries rarely reflect its social and economic realities.
1) The social atlas of Europe is the first atlas to map Europe according to these realities, from the perspective of human geography rather than simply a political one.
2) Using innovative full-color visualization methods, it reconsiders European identity through its many different facets: economy, culture, history, and human and physical geography, visualizing Europe and its people in a more fluid way, in some cases using maps without artificial national boundaries.
3) It utilizes the latest available demographic, social, and economic data through state-of-the-art geographical information systems and new cartography techniques.
4) Through these new visualizations, this highly illustrated book offers fresh perspectives on a range of topics, including social values, culture, education, employment, environmental footprints, health and well-being, and social inequalities and cohesion.
5) It is a bold rethinking of Europe as we know it and will be of interest to anyone who wants to understand the Continent in its truest form.

With Frommer's in hand, you'll discover the highlights of two major capitals of American music: Nashville, country music's mecca, and Memphis, the city that gave birth to the blues.
1) We'll take you to the hottest shows, and to sizzling nightclubs where you can two-step, hear the old masters play, or discover up-and-coming new talent.
2) From the Grand Ol' Opry to the hallowed halls of Graceland, you'll walk in the footsteps of musical giants.
3) We've also got the lowdown on the region's best restaurants, serving everything from elegant New Southern cuisine to down-home barbecue.
4) And you'll have a wide variety of accommodations to choose from: the classic Peabody, with its signature marching ducks; the bustling Opryland Hotel; B&Bs with true Southern hospitality; and reliable, affordable motels.
5) Detailed and accurate, it all comes complete with neighborhood maps; a complete shopping guide; the best trip-planning advice; and side trips to nearby distilleries and Civil War battlefields.

Vacation tips and how-tos including sidebars on ecology and endangered species.

To recognize and celebrate African American achievement over the past 100 years, Black Heroes profiles 150 individuals who have made a lasting and profound impact on our culture.
1) Brimming with information and more than 200 photographs, Black Heroes is a who's who of cultural importance to all Americans.
2) Wherever they've made their mark--politics, art, sports, entertainment, literature, civil rights, business, medicine, education, or law--the heroes represented in this book are men and women who have struggled against the odds and advanced to miraculous heights.

H.W. Wilson's Current Biography Yearbooks combine a full year of the monthly magazine Current Biography into a single, permanent record. It has been delivering up-to-date biographies of men and women of contemporary importance since 1940.

The obituary page of The New York Times is a celebration of extraordinary lives.
1) This groundbreaking package includes 300 obits in the book with exclusive online access to 10,000 more of the most important and fascinating obituaries the Times has ever published.
2) The obituary page is the section many readers first turn to not only see who died but to read some of the most inspiring, insightful, often funny, and elegantly written stories celebrating the lives of the men and women who have influenced our world.
3) William McDonald, The Times' obituary editor who was recently featured in the award-winning documentary Obit, selected 320 of the most important and influential obits from the newspaper's archives.
4) In chapters like "Stage and Screen," "Titans of Business," "The Notorious," "Scientists and Healers," "Athletes," and "American Leaders," the entries include a wide variety of newsmakers from the last century and a half, including Annie Oakley, Theodore Roosevelt, Joseph Stalin, Marilyn Monroe, Coco Chanel, Malcolm X, Jackie Robinson, and Prince.
5) Designed with more than 150 black-and-white photographs, it is a tomb-sized book.

This volume includes 500 biographies of Americans -- from the artists and writers to the politicians and military figures, the reformers and the criminals -- who flourished during the tumultuous 1960s.
1) Rather than focusing on a subject's entire life, more detail is placed on events in the life and contributions of the subject of the biography.
2) In addition, the volume is arranged in a handy A-Z format and includes an occupational subject list and comprehensive index.

"The Atlas of Early Man" is a unique work of popular natural history. It is a survey of the human developments that were the building blocks of scores of different civilizations, offering the kind of irresistible blend of history, science, and cultural study that will capture your interest and imagination.
1) Through one thousand maps, diagrams, drawings, and illustrations, it compares the cultures of historical contemporaries, placing simultaneous developments in art, religion, technology, science, architecture, and government in a graphic perspective.
2) What was happening in China when the pyramids were being built in Egypt? What had been achieved in the Americas when wheeled vehicles first rolled across Sumeria?
3) What point of progress had been reached in Western Europe when the Roman Empire was at its height?
4) Did the advances of man occur independently across the oceans and continents, or were they the results of a spreading influence?

A five-volume set of biographical sketches, arranged alphabetically, of 470 individuals whose contributions influenced world culture and the social development of societies flourishing in earlier centuries.

More than fifty outstanding international scholars discuss recent archaeological advances that have shed new light on man's history from the emergence of the human species through the medieval period in Europe.

This is the essential handbook for anyone interested in archaeology and keen to learn more about identifying the artefacts they discover. Not only does it help in distinguishing the various artefacts but it also explains how they can be dated.

This comprehensive, three-part historical and cultural atlas documents the origins of Rome and Greek influence, the transition from Republican to Imperial Rome, and the rise and decline of the Roman Empire.

An amply illustrated history of ancient Greek civilization focuses on Greek achievements in philosophy, medicine, sports, theater, sculpture, economics, science, and law, incorporating visits to the twenty-six major architectural sites.

From antiquity to current times, these 413 essays examine the events that shaped European civilization. All areas of historic importance have been surveyed, from race and religion to uprisings and civil unrest.
1) From the building of Stonehenge to the NATO-Russia Pact, this series covers 94 events from ancient history, 121 events from the Middle Ages, and 198 events from the Renaissance through the 20th century.
2) Nearly 300 photos, 31 maps.
3) Key Word Index.
4) Category and Geographical Lists. TimeLine.
5) Personages and Subject Indexes.

This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

Discusses various aspects of the Jewish Holocaust from its antecedents to its post-war consequences, with almost 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries.

Covers the history of Great Britain & Ireland from the Roman invasion of 55 BC to the latter half of the 20th century, including the British Empire.
1) There are over 3,000 entries conveniently arranged in alphabetical order encompassing domestic, social & political events, foreign affairs, great cultural, scientific & economic developments & outstanding individuals who have shaped the destiny of the British at home & overseas -- from the Treaty of Abbeville to the Zinoviev Letter, from Agricola to Zululand.
2) Also included are extensive cross-references, a 38-page chronology, a genealogy of British monarchs & 12 pages of maps.

Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country.
1) Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.
2) Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues.
3) Culture is defined in its broadest sense.
4) Entries include: *Antonio Gaudí * science * Antonio Banderas * golf * dance * education * politics * racism * urbanization.
5) This Encyclopedia provides essential cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies.

Providing a spectacular re-creation of historical culture through a dazzling melding of text, maps, and illustrations, the Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Former Soviet Union presents a captivating survey of Russian civilization-one that reveals Russia in all its variety and uniqueness.
1) This comprehensive resource links geography, history, archaeology, anthropology, and the arts.
2) Covers Stalin to the present day, the thoroughly updated section on Regions, Republics, and Countries, completely updated statistics.
3) Photographs and maps illustrate redefined international boundaries.
4) A completely updated bibliography.

In 2,500 entries arranged alphabetically, the whole spectrum of Russian history from the tenth century through the Khrushchev era is covered.

A collection of articles that survey the full scope of Asian history, discussing major historical events and periods from Bronze Age China to modern India, looking at the geography of the continent, profiling over 1,200 influential men and women, and examining aspects of Asian culture and society.

Encyclopedic dictionary giving data about native peoples living north of Mexico. The publishers aim to present historical, geographical, and ethnographical information in short, article-length formats, making a comprehensive list of all native North American societies readily accessible to the nonexpert.

This fully updated reference explores more than 200 North American tribes, prehistoric peoples, and civilizations. Arranged alphabetically by tribe or group, this comprehensive work offers 60 new entries on tribes not covered in the previous editions. The accessible text summarizes the historical record and includes present-day tribal affairs and issues. The book also covers diet, housing, tools, clothing, art, rituals, and more.

This is a contemporary work that contains nearly 2,000 biographies with 1,000 pictures that bring visual enhancement to the expertly written text. Thousands of bibliographical references provide a listing of publications for further in-depth study on many of the biographies. Also, the tribal index makes it easy to search Indians by their tribe or nation.

This volume is a comprehensive examination of all 50 US states. It includes for each state: tables summarizing statistics, a brief history of the state, a timeline, and notes on additional published books and Web resources.

This is an essential book for anyone who wishes to study the origins of the government of the United States of America. It contains, among other hard to find early documents, the word-for-word notes taken by Madison during the Federal Convention of 1787, which established the fundamental outline of our constitution and set the stage for the permanent union of the existing and future states.

Many reference works offer compilations of critical documents covering individual liberty, local autonomy, constitutional order, and other issues that helped to shape the American political tradition. The American Republic provides, in a single volume, critical, original documents revealing the character of American discourse on the nature and importance of local government, the purposes of federal union, and the role of religion and tradition in forming America's drive for liberty.
1) By bringing together key original documents and other writings that explain cultural, religious, and historical concerns, this volume gives students, teachers, and general readers an effective way to begin examining the diversity of issues and influences that characterize American history.
2) The result unquestionably leads to a deeper and more thorough understanding of America's political, institutional, and cultural continuity and change.

Milestone Documents in American History offers students and researchers in-depth analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. history. Each entry in this set includes the full text of the document in question as well as critical analysis that places the document in its historical context.

This comprehensive, alphabetical encyclopedia of 300+ easy-to-read essays is the perfect first resource for anyone who wants reliable information or background material on the history, institution, and the people who've held our nation's highest office.

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and it was reproduced from the original artifact of 1903.
1) This version remains as true to the original work as possible.
2) Therefore, you will see the original copyright of 1903, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work.
3) The subtitle says, "All Old Wars, War of the Rebellion, Spanish and Philippine Wars, with Dates, from 1754 to 1900."
4) Provides an alphabetized list of battles, with dates and locations.
5) Other miscellany like a chronology of the Am, Civil War, also included.

Articles appear in a single, alphabetical arrangement. Most have bibliographic references.

This compendium covers the colonial experience from the 11th-century Norse settlers in Newfoundland to the Spanish in New Mexico and the Russians in 1850s Alaska. Articles speak to the daily circumstances, historical events and prevailing climates of thought that gave shape and purpose to people's lives during the centuries of imperial expansion and settlement.

Comprised of 700 detailed mini-essays on battles, campaigns, skirmishes, raids, massacres, and sea fights, along with approximately 400 biographical sketches of the leading American, British, and others.

The years from 1829 to 1849 are the focus of the Historical Dictionary of the Jacksonian Era and Manifest Destiny. This book contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

The American Nation: Primary Sources resumes the narrative begun in its companion volume, The American Republic, which covered the first eight decades of U.S. history, ending at the onset of the Civil War. The American Nation continues the story through America's entrance into World War II.
1) The primary sources in The American Nation are relevant to the Civil War, Reconstruction, the rise of a national capitalist system and culture, the waves of reform-minded thought and policy that moved the nation toward formation of the national administrative and welfare states, and America's emergence as a major power on the world stage.
2) This period was a time of establishing and consolidating national power and laying the foundations of a national government committed to promoting the material well-being of Americans.
3) It was an era that witnessed the development of the nation-state and the establishment of the New Deal regime, which set the stage for the radical social movements of the 1960s and beyond.
4) Some of the primary documents include the Emancipation Proclamation, the Freedmen's Bureau Bill, the Sherman Antitrust Act, and the Monroe Doctrine.
5) The authors featured include Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Jefferson Davis, Robert LaFollette, Eugene Debs, Jane Addams, William Graham Sumner, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Booker T. Washington, among many others.

A compilation of essays and entries based on research, this work documents African American culture and political activism from the slavery era through the 20th century. Encyclopedia of African American History introduces readers to the significant people, events, sociopolitical movements, and ideas that have shaped African American life from earliest contact between African peoples and Europeans through the late 20th century.
1) This encyclopedia places the African American experience in the context of the entire African diaspora, with entries organized in sections on African/European contact and enslavement, culture, resistance and identity during enslavement, political activism from the Revolutionary War to Southern emancipation, political activism from Reconstruction to the modern Civil Rights movement, black nationalism and urbanization, and Pan-Africanism and contemporary black America.
2) Also, the distinctive impact on American society, politics, business, literature, art, food, clothing, music, language, and technology.
3) Contributions from over 100 specialists on African America and the African diaspora.
4) A spectacular selection of illustrations and photographs and maps of the Triangular Trade and the Underground Railroad.

The Black experience in America has been one of pain, struggle, and perseverance, placed against a backdrop of cultural identity that would not be beaten down or eradicated in the face of adversity.
1) Born of this combination of effort and identity and shaped by experience is the African-American, whose resultant cultural identity and history is addressed by The Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
2) An authoritative, five volume work dealing with all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to 1995.
3) With over 2,300 entries, 2,500 pages, and more than 1,000 photographs, maps, and charts.

.In nearly 700 entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass and shows how American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
1) Major topics such as "Abolitionism," "Black Nationalism," the "Civil War," the "Dred Scott case," "Reconstruction," "Slave Rebellions and Insurrections," the "Underground Railroad," and "Voting Rights" are given the in-depth treatment.
2) But the encyclopedia also contains hundreds of entries on less obvious subjects, like the "African Grove Theatre," "Black Seafarers," "Buffalo Soldiers," the "Catholic Church and African Americans," "Cemeteries and Burials," "Gender," "Midwifery," "New York African Free Schools," "Oratory and Verbal Arts," "Religion and Slavery," the "Secret Six," and much more.
3) The Encyclopedia offers brief biographies of important African Americans-as well as white Americans who have played a significant role in African American history-from Crispus Attucks, John Brown, and Henry Ward Beecher to Olaudah Equiano, Frederick Douglass, Sarah Grimke, Sojourner Truth, Nat Turner, Phillis Wheatley, and many others.
4) Selective bibliographies and cross-references appear at the end of each article to direct readers to related articles within the Encyclopedia and to primary sources and scholarly works beyond it.
5) A topical outline, chronology of major events, nearly 300 black and white illustrations, and comprehensive index further enhance the work's usefulness.

In 1896 came the "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson. This set covers from 1896 to the date of publication in 2009.
1) This encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.
2) The Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts.
3) The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states.
4) The Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general.

This resource includes chronology, inventors & scientists, women, music, sports, media, military, organizations, law, literature, significant documents, landmarks & a great deal more. Each volume also contains African-American award recipients, guide to Black colleges, extensive bibliography & a volume-specific cumulative index.

An award-winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War.
1) Its five volumes are rich with illustrations, maps, and primary source documents, and offer more than 1,600 authoritative entries.
2) Material charts the war's strategic aims, analyzes diplomatic and political maneuvering, describes key military actions, sketches important participants, assesses developments in military science, and discusses the social and financial impact of the conflict.
3) Brief entry bibliographies lead curious readers to the most reliable sources for further information.
4) Over 1,600 signed A-Z entries, authored by notable scholars and referenced for further reading.
5) Over 300 contributors, including some of the leading Civil War scholars at work today. 6) More than 500 illustrations, including contemporary photographs, lithographs, and drawings, plus 75 maps.
7) A chronology, glossary, and exhaustive index.
8) Over 250 primary source documents.

A five-volume guide to the 127 volumes of documents and 1 index volume published in the Official Records, which are held on microfilm at the National Archives and Records Administration. The volumes are arranged by military theaters of operation. The series was designed to help the user of the Official Records to understand the organization of the printed material and to make the printed material more accessible to users.

The Encyclopedia of Cold War Politics is a concise yet comprehensive A-to-Z reference on the period from World War II to the demise of the Soviet Union. It has 700 entries, which discuss such topics as the Red Scare, the House UnAmerican Activities Committee, and the Vietnam War.

The American South is a geographical entity, a historical fact, a place in the imagination, and the homeland of an array of Americans who consider themselves southerners. The region is often shrouded in romance and myth, but its realities are as intriguing, as intricate, as its legends.
1) The Encyclopedia of Southern Culture is "the first attempt ever" notes U.S. News & World Report, "to describe every aspect of a region's life and thought, the impact of its history and policies, its music and literature, its manners, and myths, even the iced tea that washes down its catfish and cornbread."
2) There are many Souths, many southerners. The region's fundamental uniqueness, in fact, lies in its peculiar combination of cultural traits, a somewhat curious, often elusive blend created by blacks and whites who have lived together for more than 300 years.
3) In telling their stories, the Encyclopedia of Southern Culture ranges from grand historical themes to the whimsical; from the arts and high culture (William Faulkner and Leontyne Price) to folk culture (quilts, banjos, and grits) to popular culture (Gilley's and Gone With the Wind).
4) The Encyclopedia's definition of the South is a cultural one: the South is found wherever southern culture is found. Although the focus is on the eleven states of the former Confederacy, this volume also encompasses southern outposts in midwestern and middle-Atlantic border states, even the southern pockets of Chicago, Detroit, and Bakersfield.
5) To foster a deeper understanding of the South's cultural patterns, the editors have organized this reference book around twenty-four thematic sections, including history, religion, folklore, language, art, and architecture, recreation, politics, the mythic South, urbanization, literature, music, violence, law, and media. The life experiences of southerners are discussed in sections on black life, ethnic life, and women's life.
6) The broad goal is to identify the forces that have supported either the reality or the illusion of the southern way of life -- people, places, ideas, institutions, events, symbols, rituals, and values.
7) The Encyclopedia of Southern Culture was developed by the Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi. Contributors to the volume include historians, literary critics, sociologists, anthropologists, geographers, linguists, theologians, folklorists, architects, ecologists, lawyers, university presidents, newspaper reporters, magazine writers, and novelists.

Evangelical Protestant groups have dominated religious life in the South since the early nineteenth century. Even as the conservative Protestantism typically associated with the South has risen in social and political prominence throughout the United States in recent decades, however, religious culture in the South itself has grown increasingly diverse.
1) The region has seen a surge of immigration from other parts of the United States as well as from Latin America, Asia, and the Middle East, bringing increased visibility to Catholicism, Islam, and Asian religions in the once solidly Protestant Christian South.
2) In this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, contributors have entries on topics ranging from religious broadcasting to snake handling and entries on such topics as Asian religions, Latino religion, New Age religion, Islam, Native American religion, and social activism.
3) With the contributions of more than 60 authorities in the field--including Paul Harvey, Loyal Jones, Wayne Flynt, and Samuel F. Weber--this volume is an accessibly written, up-to-date reference to religious culture in the American South.

The location of "the South" is hardly a settled or static geographic concept. Culturally speaking, are Florida and Arkansas really part of the same region? Is Texas considered part of the South or the West?
1) This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture grapples with the contestable issue of where the cultural South is located, both on maps and in the minds of Americans.
2) Richard Pillsbury's introductory essay explores the evolution of geographic patterns of life within the region--agricultural practices, urban patterns, residential buildings, religious preferences, foodways, and language.
3) The entries that follow address general topics of cultural geographic interest, such as Appalachia, exiles and expatriates, Latino and Jewish populations, migration patterns, and the profound Disneyfication of central Florida.
4) Entries with a more concentrated focus examine major cities, such as Atlanta, New Orleans, and Memphis; the influence of black and white southern migrants on northern cities; and individual subregions, such as Piedmont, Piney Woods, Tidewater, and Delta.
5) Putting together the disparate pieces that make up the place called "the South," this volume sets the scene for the discussions in all the other volumes of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture.

Providing a chronological and interpretive spine to the twenty-four volumes of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, this volume broadly surveys history in the American South from the Paleoindian period (approximately 8000 B.C.E.) to the present.
1) In 118 essays, contributors cover the turbulent past of the region that has witnessed frequent racial conflict, a bloody Civil War fought and lost on its soil, massive in- and out-migration, major economic transformations, and a civil rights movement that brought fundamental change to the social order.
2) Charles Reagan Wilson's overview essay examines the evolution of southern history and the way our understanding of southern culture has unfolded over time and in response to a variety of events and social forces--not just as the opposite of the North but also in the larger context of the Atlantic World.
3) Longer thematic essays cover major eras and events, such as early settlement, slave culture, Reconstruction, the New Deal, and the rise of the New South.
4) Brief topical entries cover individuals--including figures from the Civil War, the civil rights movement, and twentieth-century politics--and organizations such as the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Daughters of the Confederacy, and Citizens' Councils, among others.
5) Together, these essays offer a sweeping reference to the rich history of the region.

This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture addresses the cultural, social, and intellectual terrain of myth, manners, and historical memory in the American South.
1) Evaluating how a distinct southern identity has been created, recreated, and performed through memories that blur the line between fact and fiction, this volume paints a broad, multihued picture of the region seen through the lenses of belief and cultural practice.
2) The 95 entries here represent a substantial revision and expansion of the material on historical memory and manners in the original edition.
3) They address such matters as myths and memories surrounding the Old South and the Civil War; stereotypes and traditions related to the body, sexuality, gender, and family (such as debutante balls and beauty pageants); institutions and places associated with historical memory (such as cemeteries, monuments, and museums); and specific subjects and objects of myths, including the Confederate flag and Graceland.
4) Together, they offer a compelling portrait of the "southern way of life" as it has been imagined, lived, and contested.

The fifth volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture explores language and dialect in the South, including English and its numerous regional variants, Native American languages, and other non-English languages spoken over time by the region's immigrant communities.
1) Among the more than sixty entries are eleven on indigenous languages and major essays on French, Spanish, and German.
2) Each of these provides both historical and contemporary perspectives, identifying the language's location, number of speakers, vitality, and sample distinctive features.
3) The book acknowledges the role of immigration in spreading features of Southern English to other regions and countries and in bringing linguistic influences from Europe and Africa to Southern English.
4) The fascinating patchwork of English dialects is also fully presented, from African American English, Gullah, and Cajun English to the English spoken in Appalachia, the Ozarks, the Outer Banks, the Chesapeake Bay Islands, Charleston, and elsewhere.
5) Topical entries discuss ongoing changes in the pronunciation, vocabulary, and grammar of English in the increasingly mobile South, as well as naming patterns, storytelling, preaching styles, and politeness, all of which deal with ways language is woven into southern culture.

Transcending familiar categories of "black" and "white," this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture complicates and enriches our understanding of "southernness" by identifying the array of cultures that combined to shape the South.
1) This exploration of southern ethnicities examines the ways people perform and maintain cultural identities through folklore, religious faith, dress, music, speech, cooking, and transgenerational tradition.
2) Accessibly written and informed by the most recent research that recovers the ethnic diversity of the early South and documents the more recent arrival of new cultural groups, this volume greatly expands upon the modest Ethnic Life section of the original Encyclopedia.
3) Contributors describe 88 ethnic groups that have lived in the South from the Mississippian Period (1000-1600) to the present.
4) They include 34 American Indian groups, as well as the many communities with European, African, and Asian cultural ties that came to the region after 1600.
5) Southerners from all backgrounds are likely to find themselves represented here.

When the original Encyclopedia of Southern Culture was published in 1989, the topic of foodways was relatively new as a field of scholarly inquiry. Food has always been central to southern culture, but the past twenty years have brought an explosion in interest in foodways, particularly in the South.
1) This volume marks the first encyclopedia of the food culture of the American South, surveying the vast diversity of foodways within the region and the collective qualities that make them distinctively southern.
2) Articles in this volume explore the richness of southern foodways, examining not only what southerners eat but also why they eat it.
3) The volume contains 149 articles, almost all of them new to this edition of the Encyclopedia.
4) Longer essays address the historical development of southern cuisine and ethnic contributions to the region's foodways.
5) Topical essays explore iconic southern foods such as MoonPies and fried catfish, prominent restaurants and personalities, and the food cultures of subregions and individual cities.
6) The volume is destined to earn a spot on kitchen shelves as well as in libraries.

From semitropical coastal areas to high mountain terrain, from swampy lowlands to modern cities, the environment holds a fundamental importance in shaping the character of the American South. This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture surveys the dynamic environmental forces that have shaped human culture in the region--and the ways humans have shaped their environment.
1) Articles examine how the South's ecology, physiography, and climate have influenced southerners--not only as a daily fact of life but also as a metaphor for understanding culture and identity.
2) This volume includes ninety-eight essays that explore--both broadly and specifically--elements of the southern environment.
3) Thematic overviews address subjects such as plants, animals, energy use and development, and natural disasters.
4) Shorter topical entries feature familiar species such as the alligator, the ivory-billed woodpecker, kudzu, and the mockingbird.
5) Also covered are important individuals in southern environmental history and prominent places in the landscape, such as the South's national parks and seashores.
6) New articles cover contemporary issues in land use and conservation, environmental protection, and the current status of the flora and fauna widely associated with the South.

Offering a comprehensive view of the South's literary landscape, past and present, this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture celebrates the region's ever-flourishing literary culture and recognizes the ongoing evolution of the southern literary canon.
1) As new writers draw upon and reshape previous traditions, southern literature has broadened and deepened its connections not just to the American literary mainstream but also to world literature--a development thoughtfully explored in the essays here.
2) This volume includes 31 thematic essays addressing major genres of literature; theoretical categories, such as regionalism, the southern gothic, and agrarianism; and themes in southern writing, such as food, religion, and sexuality.
3) There are a number of biographical entries, which introduce southern novelists, playwrights, poets, and critics.
4) Special attention is given to contemporary writers and other individuals who have not been widely covered in previous scholarship.

Volume 10 of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture combines two of the sections from the original edition, adding extensive updates and 53 entirely new articles.
1) In the law section of this volume, 16 longer essays address broad concepts ranging from law schools to family law, from labor relations to school prayer.
2) The 43 topical entries focus on specific legal cases and individuals, including historical legal professionals, parties from landmark cases, and even the fictional character Atticus Finch, highlighting the roles these individuals have played in shaping the identity of the region.
3) The politics section includes 34 essays on matters such as Reconstruction, social class and politics, and immigration policy. New essays reflect the changing nature of southern politics, away from the one-party system long known as the "solid South" to the lively two-party politics now in play in the region.
4) Seventy shorter topical entries cover individual politicians, political thinkers, and activists who have made significant contributions to the shaping of southern politics.

Southern music has flourished as a meeting ground for the traditions of West African and European peoples in the region, leading to the evolution of various traditional folk genres, bluegrass, country, jazz, gospel, rock, blues, and southern hip-hop.
1) This much-anticipated volume in The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture celebrates an essential element of southern life and makes available for the first time a stand-alone reference to the music and music makers of the American South.
2) With nearly double the number of entries devoted to music in the original Encyclopedia, this volume includes 30 thematic essays, covering topics such as ragtime, zydeco, folk music festivals, minstrelsy, rockabilly, white and black gospel traditions, and southern rock.
3) And it features 174 topical and biographical entries, focusing on artists and musical outlets.
4) From Mahalia Jackson to R.E.M., from Doc Watson to OutKast, this volume considers a diverse array of topics, drawing on the best historical and contemporary scholarship on southern music.
5) It is a book for all southerners and for all serious music lovers, wherever they live.

This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture reflects the dramatic increase in research on the topic of gender over the past thirty years, revealing that even the most familiar subjects take on new significance when viewed through the lens of gender.
1) The wide range of entries explores how people have experienced, understood, and used concepts of womanhood and manhood in all sorts of obvious and subtle ways.
2) The volume features 113 articles, 65 of which are entirely new for this edition.
3) Thematic articles address subjects such as sexuality, respectability, and paternalism and investigate the role of gender in broader subjects, including the civil rights movement, country music, and sports.
4) Topical entries highlight individuals such as Oprah Winfrey, the Grimke sisters, and Dale Earnhardt, as well as historical events such as the capture of Jefferson Davis in a woman's dress, the Supreme Court's decision in Loving v. Virginia, and the Memphis sanitation workers' strike, with its slogan, "I AM A MAN."
5) Bringing together scholarship on gender and the body, sexuality, labor, race, and politics, this volume offers new ways to view big questions in southern history and culture.

Southern folklife is the heart of southern culture. Looking at traditional practices still carried on today as well as at aspects of folklife that are dynamic and emergent, contributors to this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture examine a broad range of folk traditions.
1) Moving beyond the traditional view of folklore that situates it in historical practice and narrowly defined genres, entries in this volume demonstrate how folklife remains a vital part of communities' self-definitions.
2) Fifty thematic entries address subjects such as car culture, funerals, hip-hop, and powwows.
3) In 56 topical entries, contributors focus on more specific elements of folklife, such as roadside memorials, collegiate stepping, quinceanera celebrations, New Orleans marching bands, and hunting dogs.
4) Together, the entries demonstrate that southern folklife is dynamically alive and everywhere around us, giving meaning to the everyday unfolding of community life.

This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture offers a current and authoritative reference to urbanization in the American South from the eighteenth century to the twenty-first, surveying important southern cities individually and examining the various issues that shape patterns of urbanization from a broad regional perspective.
1) Looking beyond the post-World War II era and the emergence of the Sunbelt economy to examine recent and contemporary developments, the 48 thematic essays consider the ongoing remarkable growth of southern urban centers, new immigration patterns (such as the influx of Latinos and the return-migration of many African Americans), booming regional entrepreneurial activities with global reach (such as the rise of the southern banking industry and companies such as CNN in Atlanta and FedEx in Memphis), and mounting challenges that result from these patterns (including population pressure and urban sprawl, aging and deteriorating infrastructure, gentrification, and state and local budget shortfalls).
2) The 31 topical entries focus on individual cities and urban cultural elements, including Mardi Gras, Dollywood, and the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

What southerners do, where they go, and what they expect to accomplish in their spare time, their "leisure," reveals much about their cultural values, class and racial similarities and differences, and historical perspectives.
1) This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture offers an authoritative and readable reference to the culture of sports and recreation in the American South, surveying the various activities in which southerners engage in their non-work hours, as well as attitudes surrounding those activities.
2) Seventy-four thematic essays explore activities from the familiar (porch sitting and fairs) to the essential (football and stock car racing) to the unusual (pool checkers and a sport called "fireballing").
3) In seventy-seven topical entries, contributors profile major sites associated with recreational activities (such as Dollywood, drive-ins, and the Appalachian Trail) and prominent sports figures (including Althea Gibson, Michael Jordan, Mia Hamm, and Hank Aaron).
4) Taken together, the entries provide an engaging look at the ways southerners relax, pass time, celebrate, let loose, and have fun.

Offering a broad, up-to-date reference to the long history and cultural legacy of education in the American South, this timely volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture surveys educational developments, practices, institutions, and politics from the colonial era to the present.
1) With over 130 articles, this book covers key topics in education, including academic freedom; the effects of urbanization on segregation, desegregation, and re-segregation; African American and women's education; and illiteracy.
2) These entries, as well as articles on prominent educators, such as Booker T. Washington and C. Vann Woodward, and major southern universities, colleges, and trade schools, provide an essential context for understanding the debates and battles that remain deeply imbedded in southern education.
3) Framed by Clarence Mohr's historically rich introductory overview, the essays in this volume comprise a greatly expanded and thoroughly updated survey of the shifting southern education landscape and its development over the span of four centuries.

This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture examines how mass media have shaped popular perceptions of the South--and how the South has shaped the history of mass media.
1) An introductory overview by Allison Graham and Sharon Monteith is followed by 40 thematic essays and 132 topical articles that examine major trends and seminal moments in film, television, radio, press, and Internet history.
2) Among topics explored are the southern media boom, beginning with the Christian Broadcast Network and CNN; popular movies, television shows, and periodicals that have shaped ideas about the region, including Gone with the Wind, The Beverly Hillbillies, Roots, and Southern Living; and southern media celebrities such as Oprah Winfrey, Truman Capote, and Stephen Colbert.
3) The volume details the media's involvement in southern history, from depictions of race in the movies to news coverage of the civil rights movement and Hurricane Katrina.
4) Taken together, these entries reveal and comment on the ways in which mass media have influenced, maintained, and changed the idea of a culturally unique South.

Much of the violence that has been associated with the United States has had particular salience for the South, from its high homicide rates, or its bloody history of racial conflict, to southerners' popular attachment to guns and traditional support for capital punishment.
1) With over 95 entries, this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture explores the most significant forms and many of the most harrowing incidences of violence that have plagued southern society over the past 300 years.
2) Following a detailed overview by editor Amy Wood, the volume explores a wide range of topics, such as violence against and among American Indians, labor violence, arson, violence and memory, suicide, and anti-abortion violence.
3) Taken together, these entries broaden our understanding of what has driven southerners of various classes and various ethnicities to commit acts of violence, while addressing the ways in which southerners have conceptualized that violence, responded to it, or resisted it.
4) This volume enriches our understanding of the culture of violence and its impact on ideas about law and crime, about historical tradition and social change, and about race and gender--not only in the South but in the nation as a whole.